Power on motherboard but computer wont start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2004, 10:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default Power on motherboard but computer wont start

Hey all,
Just having a few problems, i have recently upgrade my computer by putting in a new motherboard and chip and hdd and videocard!!. So obviously i had to take all the old stuff out!. old stuff being p4 1.7 chip and asus p4 motherboard!. ANYWAY, my mums computer is an old p2 so, ive put my p4 chip and motherboard into her old case!. Ive connected everything up! to which seems correct to me!, but when i plug the power cord in!, a light on the motherboard turns on!, and whn i push "power button" to start it just sits there??. Anyone got any ideas???
Any help will be greatly appreicated
Cheers
Joel
__________________

lateralus_01 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 03:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

also, make sure that the powerbutton is actually connected to the mobo. I know it is a trivial thing but ppl forget it.
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 07:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

thats ok man
i looked at that panel part for atleast an hour
im absolutly 100 percent positive it was in right!, So im going to do what microbell suggested in his help post and hopefully i can find my problem
lateralus_01 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

check ur powersupply

as you siad that ur mom's computer was OLD, means that it might wont be supporting the P-4's power requiremens, as nomally old PC's came with 120W PSU's which wont be definately recommended with a P-4 system at least.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
Default

If its a dual power supply, did you connect both plugs? Try powering up with all the drives unconnected to figure out if it is a board problem or something caused by the drives.
hooloovoo is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 06:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

HMMM well i think that the power supply might not be right!, because it works on mums p2 setup but not on a p4 setup.
does that sound right?, well could that be right? cheers
joel
lateralus_01 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 07:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

hmmmm im sorry ppl, i was reading the bloody motherboard writing for ages, where is says pwrbtn and pled and all the those things and i assumed that the writing on the board matched how the pins were set out!, EXCEPT the friggin things go BACKWARDS, so foget about my question above, i have it fixed~!!!!
__________________

lateralus_01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.