power of external devices never off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2004, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default power of external devices never off

when i turn the computer off i noticed that none of the external devices is actually turned off. Keyboard, scanner, gamepad, etc all are standby (little lights are on).
What can be the cause of this problem?

punkfre is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
ohGrFreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak

it's not a problem at all.

ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 07:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4

yes it is because its using up power=money, and its not normal
punkfre is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 08:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone

Then turn them all off manually...get a surge protector and hook them all up so they all turn off with the flick of a switch.

And yes, it is normal.
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 08:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Well...maybe its normal...at least with some mobo's it is.
My bro has a Celeron800MHz, no idea what mobo and his mouse etc stays on. My dad has MSI kt3v mobo with AMD 2000+ I think and his devices turn off. My own comp is very old and everything is turned off with the power button.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 01:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 112

BIOS setting?

Jeff Cline
MYTHLOGIC Corporation
Custom. Gaming. Computers.
<a href=\"http://www.mythlogic.com\">http://www.mythlogic.com</a>
jcline is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.