POST errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2005, 08:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to njean Send a message via AIM to njean Send a message via Yahoo to njean
Default POST errors

Hi all,

first of all, I'm sorry if I make some typos, as I am Italian

Here's my system:

PSU 400W No-Brand
MoBo: ABIT AN7 uGuru
CPU: AMD XP Barton 2500@3200
RAM: 2x256mb DDR400 + 1x512mb DDR400

GFX: Gecube Radeon 9800PRO 128mb

CoolerMaster Aero7 Lite CPU Fan
CoolerMaster Passive NB Dissi

Benq DVD-ROM
HP CD-RW

HDD1 80GB
HDD2 20GB

Ethernet card

2x UV Neons

Case: ThermalTake Viking

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

now the problem:

Last weekI bought a new case (TT Viking) and so I transferred all the HW into the new one. In doing this, I also replaced the noisy default NB fan, with a passive dissipator.

After having all plugged , I try and boot it up. My MoBo has a display in which I can read the Power On Self Test P.O.S.T. codes.

At the begin, the system was stuck at the bios logo screen, with POST error 6d.

So I reset the CMOS, boot up and new error: 0A gosh!

I changed some molex connectings, and all the booting goes fine. There was the precharging winxp screen (the white bar on a dark background) and then... black screen, with a "_" flashing in the upper left corner.

I unplugged the secondary HDD, and on booting I had the memory test failed. So I decided to test each ram module by itself. With one 256mb module, the system was booting, and everything was fine.

I tried adding the 512mb module too and.... whoa, it says that the additional power cable of my radeon9800pro isn't plugged :|

So I changed some power connections, booted it with 1 ram module and... fasten your seat belts: POST error 75!

Reset CMOS: post error 0A.

I don't know anymore what to do! Is my MoBo gone? or my PSU??

Can anyone help me please???
__________________

njean is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 09:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Hmmm.... Sounds like either your RAM or your PSU. But since you replaced the NB fan with a pssive dissapator, maybe it didnt dissapait enough and burned your MoBo. Try another CPU, some different ram.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 09:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to njean Send a message via AIM to njean Send a message via Yahoo to njean
Default

now it booted, I only changed a molex connector.....
njean is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Swell
Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.