Possible upgrade, need tips - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2005, 09:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default Possible upgrade, need tips

OK guys, apologies for a seemingly newbie-ish question, but I'll get right to the point:-

Sometime in the near future I'm looking towards a bit of an upgrade (see sig)- a new CPU (AMD 64 3200+ S939) and MoBo (too early to decide this one, but possibly an Asus A8V Deluxe). Now, once everything is installed (w/ jumpers set and BIOS configured...) would you recommend a fresh format, and thus install the chipset drivers from fresh? Or do you think there's any chance I'd get away with just removing & updating the neccessary drivers?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i highly recommend doing a fresh install of everything.
that way your guaranteed no problems at all.
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 10:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Defiantly do a fresh install

Take a look at the new nforce PCI-E lanparty boards, got an a8v a few months ago, just too bad no s939 DFI Lanparty's were out
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 11:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Defiantly do a fresh install

Take a look at the new nforce PCI-E lanparty boards, got an a8v a few months ago, just too bad no s939 DFI Lanparty's were out
I'm only looking for a modest upgrade, at around £200. You know, an FX-55 and two SLI'd 6800 Ultra's would be nice, but a) I can't afford it, and b) I'd still probably need to upgrade for Unreal 3's presence anyway ...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 01:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

you could get away with not formatting, but i wouldnt advise it. you'd have to go in and repair a bunch of windows files. besides, w/ a clean format, you'll get better preformance.
__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 01:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Thanks guys, that's what I thought I should do *groan*, I just wondered if the was anyone out there who got away without formatting. Oh well.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 02:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

everytime i've put a hd into a new motherboard and set it as the master...i've had problems...espeically with the ntldr missing.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 04:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DoomUK
Thanks guys, that's what I thought I should do *groan*, I just wondered if the was anyone out there who got away without formatting. Oh well.
Ive had computers boot many times from another PC and i put it in here. But that's when im too lazy to use a floppy disk to format a PC most of the time though
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.