A possible power supply poblem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2005, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Default A possible power supply poblem

Alright, I got a high-preformance gamming computer and the first time that i left a game running for about four hours it turned off. It seams to occure faster now after the first time it turned off(about 40 min of playing). I then called the manufacturer (ibuypower) and told them the problem. They said that it might be a mobo or cpu problem and sent me replacement parts. I installed them and the problem still occures. I then thought that mabey my power supply was defective or mabey not powerfull enough. I called them and they said they would replace that too because the poblem still exsited. I havent gotten the power supply yet but im just woundering what you guys think sicne the tech support from ibuypower just seams awstruck because they have never heard of this prblem before and are just atempting to replace the parts one by one untill the problem is solved. I highly doubt that this poblem is a proccesor heat related incident because i have cheak the temp in the bios ant it usually is around 55 C. My specs are as follows:
-A8N SLI Deluxe
-Fx-55
- 1 gb geil
-Audigy 2 ZS
-Ernemax 535 W SLI ready
-X2 EVGA 6800GT Ultra 256mb ( I took one out because it runs for a longer time with only one in)

Thanks for your help!
__________________

everton is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 12:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Jesus first of all nice setup. Two 6800 ultras must be nice. What im thinking is ure having an overheating problem. Whats the temps at which ure running at?
__________________

__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

that asus board is KNOWN to have problems

ask ibuypower to replace it with another board (the downside to this is that you'll have to reinstall everything on your hard drive)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

oh, and that's impossible that the ibuypower staff has never heard of something like that

few weeks ago my friend ordered something from ibuypower as well and the same thing happened, but i don't know what the problem was, nor does he (good thing we live like 10-20 minutes away from ibuypower)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 02:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Default

Why would he have to reinstall everything if he's just replacing the mobo with the exact same one. Doesn't the hardrive already have all the correct drivers loaded on it?
__________________
Pentium4 3.0C Ghz CPU 800FSB
Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu CPU cooler
Enlight 420 Watt ATX Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 SE Motherboard (Intel 865PE chipset)
2x 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
eVGA Nvidia 128MB e-Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
WD 74GB Raptor SATA HD (10,000 RPM)
NEC 16x DVD +/- R/RW Writer
NEC 16x DVD-ROM
MyHD 120 PCI HDTV tuner card
Apacer embedded 6in1 card reader
4 Cooler Master 80mm case fans
Vantec HD cooler
Viewsonic P810 21\" CRT monitor
Windows XP Pro Service Pack 1
Dean66 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 02:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

i told him to get a different mobo

but the same mobo WOULD do, although i don't know if you'll get the problems again
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 07:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah you can just swap out the mobo's

Peronally im betting it's the Asus mobo for being a BUGGY POS
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 06:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Default

Sorry, i forgot to mention that i already got a replacement for the mobo and cpu and installed it, and it still had the same problems. the CPU temp according to my asus probe program is just under 60 C (which is relatively cool for this proccesor). I got a new replacement power supply i will install and see iff the problem persists

If i still have the problem i will try and get a different sli mobo according to diabloII or possibly another replacement for the same one idk.
everton is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Default

60 C sounds awfully high to me. I'm not too familiar with AMD's and especially the high end fx chips, but damn 60C! My friend's P4 3.0E prescott processor run at 33C and those cores are known to run hotter than most.
__________________
Pentium4 3.0C Ghz CPU 800FSB
Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu CPU cooler
Enlight 420 Watt ATX Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 SE Motherboard (Intel 865PE chipset)
2x 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
eVGA Nvidia 128MB e-Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
WD 74GB Raptor SATA HD (10,000 RPM)
NEC 16x DVD +/- R/RW Writer
NEC 16x DVD-ROM
MyHD 120 PCI HDTV tuner card
Apacer embedded 6in1 card reader
4 Cooler Master 80mm case fans
Vantec HD cooler
Viewsonic P810 21\" CRT monitor
Windows XP Pro Service Pack 1
Dean66 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the replace mobo was an asus as well

i was suggesting you use a non-asus mobo (way more reliable)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.