Is it possible to make cable internet faster? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2004, 08:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default Is it possible to make cable internet faster?

I was just downloading some HL2 videos and wandering if it is possible to make cable internet faster without upgrading to T1.
b/w I use a regular comcast internet.
__________________

__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 08:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 95
Default

yes its able to make it "faster". you can increase the rwin and mtu. go to www.dslreports.com and on the left side click on tools, then do the tweak test. follow the instructions there after. generally speaking you wanna set your RWIN to 64240 and your mtu to either 1492 or 1500 depending on what you have..... go to that site, it'll explain EVERYTHING.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Epox EP-8RDA3+ rev. 1.1
Corsair XMS 2x512mb PC3200 C2PT
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
Maxtor Diamond Max 9 80GB SATA HD
Maxtor Diamond Max 10 80GB SATA HD
Lite-on 16x DVD/48x CD-rom drive
Lite-on 52x/32x/52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SB Live! 5.1 Digital
Antec SX1040BII Case
4x80mm case fans, 2 in, 2 out

OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
Devil4915 is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 09:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 22
Default

cool thanks let me check it out
xkrazy is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 09:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well it's not really 'speeding up your cable' but rather optimizing your system to receive the cable at its optimum level
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 01:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

thanks for the link alot of good stuff on the site
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 06:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i know a very good tool, its called TCP/IP Optimizer.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.