Is it possible...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Is it possible...?

I have a webcam that i can access from the internet to veiw at anytime...i was curious is there any way to remotely cut on a webcam from the other side ,say i had one hooked up at my house and i am at work and i am wanting to talk to my son at home without him having to go through anything on the computer basically i just want my face to pop up on the screen and me be able to talk to him and see him and vica there any possible way to do this??

cowart157 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
mikesx4911's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: Is it possible...?

dont think so, but what you could do is just control the computer for him remotley, so he does not have do click anything you would do the work.

mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 01:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3

Ive heard of that there's even an app on my Iphone...i kinda computer savy but ive never messed with anything like that what is the easiest way to remotely control a computer??

What program is needed if i were to use a laptop to control another laptop remotely...
cowart157 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
philbar71's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Is it possible...?

Originally Posted by cowart157 View Post
What program is needed if i were to use a laptop to control another laptop remotely...
Windows has a build in feature called Remote Desktop,

Windows XP: Get Started Using Remote Desktop

Article is a bit dated, but should still give you an idea of what you need to do for vista/7.

The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD


<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954
Default Re: Is it possible...?

i use TeamViewer myself.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.