Is it possible? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2004, 01:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

it is a problem damn it... so dont question me about it.

my friend called his ISP and after an hour or so they determined that the problem well the only way to solve it through reformatting...

so if next time u dun noe anything, just shut it alright juan? it really pisses me off when people want it their way. argh
__________________

cheerios is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 01:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default

thats the problem, my friend doesnt have a burner, besides it is 600 songs... - -"


^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

yeah...not having a burner is a problem ...but the 600 songs arent

as some1 said before , if u burn them in mp3 format u can fit all 600 on like 8 cds
__________________

guess123 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 01:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

hmm really? hmm i should try that. thanx guess123!
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 01:44 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

hey cheerios, do you have access to another hard drive? like take one out of a computer that is working ok, make it the master and the one w/the mp3's the slave, copy the mp3s to the good drive, take it out, do the reformatting, then put the one w/the copied mp3's back in as the slave and re-transfer the mp3's.

just an idea.

hope it works ok.
jaksback is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 01:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
Default

i am not getting why u r going to format the hdd to avoid a program error

u can reinstall the os which will not delete u'r data
otherwise u can install l a fresh copy of windows in any other folder(c:\windows1 like that ) and install all other applications
vimal is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 02:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaknlisa619
hey cheerios, do you have access to another hard drive? like take one out of a computer that is working ok, make it the master and the one w/the mp3's the slave, copy the mp3s to the good drive, take it out, do the reformatting, then put the one w/the copied mp3's back in as the slave and re-transfer the mp3's.

just an idea.

hope it works ok.
yes ive considered that before but the problem is the only hard drive i have belongs to my dad
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 02:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cheerios
it is a problem damn it... so dont question me about it.

my friend called his ISP and after an hour or so they determined that the problem well the only way to solve it through reformatting...

so if next time u dun noe anything, just shut it alright juan? it really pisses me off when people want it their way. argh
My way? just becouse i asked you to be specific about what error was that you where talking about?
well dont mind me and keep doing what you are doing
im not questioning you anything
hooo..... forget it
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 09:21 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Oberjaeger
Well of course they're going to say that he should reinstall. The people at his ISP's helpdesk aren't responsible for fixing problems with windows unless it's specifically related to him getting online. Even then 90% of the time a tech support monkey will tell you to reinstall.

He can either get a cd burner for $20-$30, copy them onto another pc over a network, copy them onto a second hard drive or get some partitiong software to resize his partition and create a second one for data.

While your friend is out getting the stuff to solve his problem you should take the time to go out and get yourself a better attitude. No one here is being paid to help you, they're spending their time to help you out.
If it turns out that someones advice isn't useful for you then suck it down. If you want the right to ***** at someone then take the damn pc to a place that will take you money to repair it for you.
hmm relax man its just that im not getting the answers i want and im thinking, yeah maybe im not being specific enough, sorrie guys sigh... sorrie juan for that verbal assault
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 11:09 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Thumbs up

Good for you cheerios, I truly respect when someone can admit when they've overstepped themselves (or whatever) and apologize. Not that you need or want my respect, I'm just giving you kudos for your last post.
jaksback is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 02:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cheerios
hmm really? hmm i should try that. thanx guess123!
Im the one who suggested it.... I feel unappreciated...

As for Oberjaeger's post, I get the feeling he may be tech support (like many on this forum) as a profession. Trust me, this kinda thing hits a nerve with TS people. If hes having a windows problem he should contact someone about his OS... not his internet. I dont mean to be "rude" or whatever... but imagine if you worked in a dental office and every day, 5 people walked in with a broken arm. Get it? Tech support hate that stuff.

Anywho, as has been suggested, you may want to inform us of the specific problem so we can maybe help with that rather than this *.mp3 issue?
__________________

__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.