Plz post feedback on Dell's PowerEdge Server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2004, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default Plz post feedback on Dell's PowerEdge Server

Do anyone own a Dell PowerEdge server (SC420 or other model)?

I'm looking to buy one, so I like to hear some opinion on that.


Not sure what is the right server for me. I have a database driven website to host with discussion forum, photo galleries, search engines and file upload features.

According to Dell, I need a Dell Tower 800 for that which it is expensive ($1400+).

Does SC420 support Windows 2003 Enterprise Server edition?

Thanks.
__________________

Discusman is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 07:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

we use power edge servers here at work, dual xeon 2gig memory and they're pretty nice. They're SQL servers and antivirus servers mostly.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
we use power edge servers here at work, dual xeon 2gig memory and they're pretty nice. They're SQL servers and antivirus servers mostly.

Dual Xeon 2gig? It gotta be expensive.

Do you have any experience with some lower level of PowerEdge such as SC420 etc???

I have a small website with a light daily internet traffic.
However, it is a database driven and file upload features, search engines embedded.

I'm running Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition.

What would you recommend me to buy? Thanks.
Discusman is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

dont have experience with lower models, type in the model you are looking at and add review for a google search... like do this in google

PowerEdge SC420 review

and search that should give reviews for it and it'll give you an idea. As far as what to use, what kind of dbase? SQL, oracle, how is it written?
R u using .ASP? .NET? Just a normal webserver, give me the system details and I'll let ya know.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
dont have experience with lower models, type in the model you are looking at and add review for a google search... like do this in google

PowerEdge SC420 review

and search that should give reviews for it and it'll give you an idea. As far as what to use, what kind of dbase? SQL, oracle, how is it written?
R u using .ASP? .NET? Just a normal webserver, give me the system details and I'll let ya know.

OS: Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition
DB: Access Database
Language: ASP, JAVA and HTML
Features: Discussion forum, Search Engine and File Uploader, Photo galleries
Internet Traffic: low (20-30 hits daily). This number may grow in the future

I've also heard Servers are very noisy compare to Desktops. I am planning to place the server in my bedroom.

Then I am afraid it would be too noisy during the night.

Would build my own server solve this problem? Thanks.
Discusman is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

u could, and you can use just a normal system as a server if you wanted. what is the system specs?
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
u could, and you can use just a normal system as a server if you wanted. what is the system specs?
Are you sure I can use any desktop to work as a server?

I was having a nightmare to make my brand new Dell Dimension 3000 desktop to work with the 2003 server OS.

Finally I had to return the computer to Dell.

The problem was:

The drivers that comes with Dell resource CD are not supported by Windows 2003 server OS.

So I got bunch of question marks next to the following devices:
Ethernet Controller
Multimedia Audio Controller
PCI Simple Communications Controller
SM Bus Controller

The new Dell comes with Windows XP Home installed.

I have people told me that Windows 2003 server OS supports older generation of pc because the older versions of drivers have already been written in the OS database.
However the windows 2003 became very picky when it comes to compatbility to newer computers.

Would you still believe you can make any desktop to work with Windows 2003 OS?

I even contacted Intel regarding this issue since the New Dell comes with a Intel Pro 100m Integrated PCI NIC card.
They told me the NIC card is not compatible with Windows 2003 OS.
__________________

Discusman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.