pls help computer keeps locking up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2004, 08:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default pls help computer keeps locking up

hi ive got a problem with my computer locking up it first started doing it while i was playing multiplayer games on internet but now its started doin it while running other applications such as windows media player and paint shop pro etc its seems to of got worse the past few weeks the only thing i have thats differnt is i installed a geforce 4 grafix card but surly this cant be the problem as its better than the intergrated one on motherboard when it locks up i cant use anything i have to restart the computer it never realy gets hot so i dont think its heat related i have asus a7n266-vm 2400 motherboard and its running on xp pro any help much appreciated thanks in advance
__________________

mlr is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 08:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

could it be an IRQ problem?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 05:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Did you correctly and fully get rid of the old drivers?

Did you choose the bog standard VGA option prior to installing your GF4?

I assume you have disabled the OB grafix card?

You aren't overclocking your RAM are you? You'll send the whole Northbridge up with it unless you set the divider correctly.

The GF4 - Is its fan clear of other PCI cards?

What OS btw?
__________________
Signatures reduce bandwidth
HippyWarlock is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

looks like it's a conflict between your onboard video and your GF4
like HippyWarlock said, try disabling your onboard video

also, are you using up-to-date drivers? try downloading new drivers from NVidia's website and see if that helps also

HippyWarlock:
OS = Operating System
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 08:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

how do you disable your onboard grafix card i thought once you put a agp grafix card in it just replaced your on board grafix also i went to get updated drivers but wasnt sure which ones i neede any help with this would be great thanks
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 08:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

You Disable it via the Bios & I had a similar problem after I installed my Geforce card. I hadn't COMPLETELY Removed the Voodoo card files. Run a search for your old video card files & I bet ya find some.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 08:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

hey apokalipse,
when you say
"conflict between your onboard video and your GF4"
do you mean conflict for IRQs or IO addresses ?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 08:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

ive checked in my bios and the onboard grafix is disabled
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 06:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Disable your ACPI in bios, too
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 06:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

In device manager if your onboard video is still present go to the properties and select "disable never use this device " also .
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.