Please Rate My Computer Setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default Please Rate My Computer Setup

I have a $2000 budget for my College Computer, so I went to Newegg.com and put this system together. Tell me what you think:

AMD Athlon 4000+ San Diego Core (Socket 939)
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum nForce 4 Ultra (Socket 939)
Gigabyte Geforce 6800GT 256mb PCI-Express
GeIL Value 2GB (4x512) DDR 400 Dual Channel Ram
2 WD Raptor 36.7GB 10,000 RPM SATA Hard Drives (RAID 0 setup)
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Gamer Edition
Thermalright xp-90 heatsink
Masscool 90mm Fan
Artic Silver Ceramique Thermal Compund

Thermaltake Tsunami Black ATX Case
Thermaltake Silent Purepower 420W PSU
NEC Black DVD Burner (IDE)
Enermax Multifunction Panel
Microsoft Finger Print Scanner

Viewsonic 17" Flatscreen CRT monitor

Total(w/o Shipping): $1,984.14
__________________

__________________
NEW FOR COLLEGE!:

AMD Athlon64 4000+ SanDiego
MSI K8 Neo4/SLI
eVGA GeForce 6800 GT
Corsair XMS 1 GB TwinX 3200XL (TCCD)
SoundBlaster Audigy2 ZS
2 WD 36.7 GB Raptor HDDs in RAID 0
OCZ ModStream 520W PSU
Thermalright XP-90c
Panisonic Panflo 92mm
Thermaltake Tsunami Case
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

That looks like a pretty good setup with the exception of a few things. What is the computer going to be used for? Unless you do a lot of video editing or 3d animation, then having anything more than 1GB of ram is a most often times a waste on money. You would probably be better off getting only 1GB of ram and then using the money you save to buying a 120GB - 200GB hard drive for added storage.
__________________

__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Alot of ram will also decrease your peformance

Two things

DFI Lanparty SLI-DR instead of that board
Artic Silver 5 instead of ceramique
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Also, get the DFI Lanparty nForce 4 Ultra-D mobo instead of the MSI. i would also recommend the eVGA video card over the Gigabyte. And switch the RAM to 1 gig of twinMOS
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I'm not even going to bother anymore... :sigh:
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Well, I put the MSI board on since it was ranked #1 new board by toms hardware and is backed up by consistantly good scores in tests and I dont need an SLI board cause I'm not going to be buying two video cards anytime soon.

The memory I messed up when I said 2GB. That was a different setup where I had a 3800+ and 2GB RAM. Since then I upgraded to a 4000+ San Diego and went to 1GB Geil RAM.
__________________
NEW FOR COLLEGE!:

AMD Athlon64 4000+ SanDiego
MSI K8 Neo4/SLI
eVGA GeForce 6800 GT
Corsair XMS 1 GB TwinX 3200XL (TCCD)
SoundBlaster Audigy2 ZS
2 WD 36.7 GB Raptor HDDs in RAID 0
OCZ ModStream 520W PSU
Thermalright XP-90c
Panisonic Panflo 92mm
Thermaltake Tsunami Case
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

get the DFI cause DFI is the king righ tnow everywhre (literally). and i would suggest OCZ ram or Twinmos or G.Skill. Oh yea the Leadtek 6800GT as well cause it comes w/ a copper HSF
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.