Please post your HDD temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2005, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Please post your HDD temps

I would like to know your HDD temps cause mine are pretty high. 45-60C.

Use SpeedFan: http://www.majorgeeks.com/download337.html
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Field Value
WDC WD2000JB-00GVA0 23 °C (73 °F)

From Everest

EDIT: That's while copying stuff to a cd as well
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

29C with a fan on it.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

My case says my Hard drive is running at case/room temperature. I guess that means it dosn't generate any heat exceding the surrounding air.

I'm running a 40 GB Seagate Barracuda, PATA drive.

I'll try this though... my case isnt the most reliable thing ever created.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I'm at work, but I'll post mine when I get home. I said that so when I search for myself, this post will pop up and I will remember to post.
Him is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

Mines 27 degrees celcius when idle
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 04:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

what sensor is ur hard drive temp. do u have to have SMART turned on?

i dunno if will work with my raid setup but i think im gettin around 54C with my 2 seagates
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 04:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No, you don't need S.M.A.R.T..
In SpeedFan it's HD0, HD1, etc.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 04:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

My hard drive has a temp of 43-45 C. A tad below my CPU, and equal with my system and case temps.

Maybe later, I'll pull the computer apart and set the drive outside on a piece of cardboard, so I can tell what its really putting out. Course, I'll have to kick up the AC... oh well.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 04:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe the thermal sensors on my HD's are broken. One of them just jumped from 42 to 55. That's impossible.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.