PLEASE PLEASE help on my computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2004, 04:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default PLEASE PLEASE help on my computer

Hi, i would like to know if the computer im buying is decent. The total cost of this computer is 377 dollars. Thanks for the opinions and replies.


-Atop ATX833 Case 350Watts w/Side clear window (Silver)
-AMD Sempron 2600+ Processor (1.833 Ghz) 256K Cache
-Leadtek Nforce2 Chipset Motherboard w/ Audio, Usb2, & LAN
-256MB PC2700 333Mhz DDR Memory
-40 GB 7200 RPM ATA 100 HArd Drive
-ATi RAdeon 7500LE 64MB DDR W/ Crt & TV-Out
-LG CD-RW 52x32x52
-Generic 3d WAve On-Board 5.1 Sound Card (I don't know how many bits it is, it's generic)
-Logitech X530 70 Watt Speakers 5.1 Speaker System.

What's the minimal amount of bits do you all reccomend for the logitech speakers? I'll just have to get another sound card if the bass is more of a squeak and a buzz. How many bits are required?

And i was wondering if i can put in a floppy by myself. I have a floppy at home but how do i know if its compatible with the computer?

This for all $377... I think that is pretty cheap for these things. I'm just planning on upgrading the MEMORY and another HARDDRIVE when I can get up with more money. And i was wondering if it's possible to buy the LED Temperature Display separately when i have more money and add it to my computer. Thanks alot.
__________________

piyonerd is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

For $20 more, you can have a 80gig drive.

If your mobo supports it, I would get ddr400 (pc3200) for fuuture upgradeability.

The video is not sufficient unless you dont game.

Sempr0ns are crap too.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Looks like you are buying from here:
http://www.cyberpowersystem.com/high...tem/dragon.asp

I would build my own if I were you. It is much cheaper and fun too.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what are you going to do on it?
you should get a computer that fits your purpose
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.