please helppppppppp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Default please helppppppppp

ok. i turn on my pc. its does everything its supposed to then it goes to a black screen. its taked about 5-10 minutes to load then its goes to the windows xp screen where you chose who u want to be logged in. any name you pick it takes 20 minutes for eveything to load, and then after that, everything is fine. my pc runs as fast as it can be.? plz somebody tell me wats wrong
__________________

gotmilk954 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Could be a PSU...though im not sure. what r u specs?
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Maybe reinstall Windows.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Thumbs up

Could be a whole bunch of things....but, I just had the same problem with a back up computer. One of the attached CDRW's failed. You probably have a malfunctioning component and it's either a floppy or cdr I would suspect. Unplug the power from your floppy and cdrom's, dvd rom and then power you puter back up. If it boots up quickly...there ya go....one of those components needs to become a frisby! If not that?????????? window reinstall maybe, as stated above. EDIT: the psu remains a good possibility as well.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 11:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i don't know about the psu because that would probably mean fairly consistent low performance although it can take more power to boot. but you could be right about a failing drive, a break down in communication between the drive and other components could cause it to take a while to register information and thus a long time to boot
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.