Please Help With Power Supply Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2004, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Default Please Help With Power Supply Questions

ok, I have my new system sorted and my mum is ready to order it for my christmas present. The only problem is that it will suck ALOT of juice and the biggest power supply I can get is 550 watt. I am running an

1 amd fx55 processor
2 nvidia xfx 6800 pci-e sli graphics cards
1 1gb ( 2x512mb) corsair ddr xms3200xl pro twin x cas 2 RAM
1 asus a8n-sli deluxe nforce 4 motherboard
2 maxtor diamondmax10 hard drives
2 asus dvd drives
6 120mm fans
3 80 mm fans
1 92 mm fan

loads of other 'junk' like cold cathodes and other not so power consuming items

So my question is will 1 550 watt Antec true blue power supply provide enough power for these components?

The case I selected (cm stacker) will support two power supplies but I don't know
a) if the motherboard supports 2 power supplies and b) how to connect 2 power supplies together to come on at the same time

Questions

1) will a 550 watt antec true blue power supply power my system?
2) if not what wattage will I need to power the system?
3) will my motherboard support 2 power supplies?
4) how do I connect 2 power supplies together to come on at the same time?
5) Is there a power supply that will give enough power to my system available?

Many Thanks

Carl
__________________

__________________
AMD FX55
Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
GIEL PC3200 Ultra Platinum CAS2 2gb
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS 7.1 THX
Antec TruePower 550W PSU
Coolermaster cm stacker

Here Soon - Man I can\'t wait?
swanster is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Wow, that's a great system. I would get some SCSI drives instead of the Diamondmax drives though. They are a little slow compared to the rest of you system.

I am not sure if 550w is enough, those gfx cards need alot of power.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 01:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Dude, I am so jealous of you. I would get at least a 600W to power your graphics cards.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Thats the problem, finding a lage power supply. I can get a 600 watt one but it only costs like £30.00 or about $60.00 which seems too cheap for a good power supply. If anyone knows where you can get a larger power supply in the uk that is a good one please let me know.

Carl
__________________
AMD FX55
Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
GIEL PC3200 Ultra Platinum CAS2 2gb
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS 7.1 THX
Antec TruePower 550W PSU
Coolermaster cm stacker

Here Soon - Man I can\'t wait?
swanster is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 02:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i don't know about power supplies, but damn, i'm only getting a DVD-R burner for christmas. you my friend, are a lucky person.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 02:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Wow, that's one insane system

Here's a nice website for figuring out wattage estimates for PC's

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

It doesn't have dual vid cards as an option, but you can estimate it pretty easily.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Cheers for the info so far

On modthebox.com it says that the cm stacker comes with a by-pass dual PSU connector, anyone know what that is?

If I use another power supply it's going to be a 330 watt antec true power, combined with a 550 watt true power I will have 880 watts of power, More than enough power for the system.

here is the link to the review http://modthebox.com/review334_3.shtml

EDIT: that power supply calculating site said I would need 406 watts minimum with one card, it said cards were 110 watts each so that gives a 516 watt power supply minimum, 880 watts is gonna be fine!

Many thanks

Carl
__________________
AMD FX55
Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
GIEL PC3200 Ultra Platinum CAS2 2gb
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS 7.1 THX
Antec TruePower 550W PSU
Coolermaster cm stacker

Here Soon - Man I can\'t wait?
swanster is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 04:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Default

come on, anyone know what a by-pass dual PSU connector is? I really need to know this
__________________
AMD FX55
Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
GIEL PC3200 Ultra Platinum CAS2 2gb
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS 7.1 THX
Antec TruePower 550W PSU
Coolermaster cm stacker

Here Soon - Man I can\'t wait?
swanster is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 01:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

That Asus motherboard is going to be great. Is it being sold in Europe already? Supposedly the release date is the 1st week of December.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 02:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Dunno if it's being sold yet, at overclockers uk you can pre order it for £187.95 and the expected delivery date is early december.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX55
Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI-E
GIEL PC3200 Ultra Platinum CAS2 2gb
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 300GB
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS 7.1 THX
Antec TruePower 550W PSU
Coolermaster cm stacker

Here Soon - Man I can\'t wait?
swanster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.