Please help: monitor slow - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 09:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default Please help: monitor slow

Hi I am not a computer technician but I want to learn. Recently my computer started delaying the signal to the monitor. That is after I switch my computer it takes something like 40 seconds to 60 seconds before anything appears on the monitor. What is the problem? Because of this I wouldn't even be able to do BIOS set up if I wanted to because by the time anything appears on the monitor it has passed the stage which it allows one to choose if the want to do BIOS set up.
__________________

Seboko is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 09:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

when you boot your machine keep pressing the delete button. when you get video you should be in the bios. Try hooking up a different monitor and see if the problem is still there
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 09:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Yeah, try another monitor, then report back...

Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 08:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to smackfan76
Default

Hey everyone. I'm having the same problem. Im trying to fix this one for someone else. The only thing with this one is that it sometimes takes 5 or 10 minutes for the monitor to come on. I've tried using a different monitor and even replaced the video card and still nothing. Any suggestions? Thanks.
smackfan76 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I would've made your own thread for this

Check the BIOS.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by smackfan76
Hey everyone. I'm having the same problem. Im trying to fix this one for someone else. The only thing with this one is that it sometimes takes 5 or 10 minutes for the monitor to come on. I've tried using a different monitor and even replaced the video card and still nothing. Any suggestions? Thanks.
Brings it to the OS and Motherboard, most likely the motherboard. Try the original monitor and video card on a different motherboard. Probably a problem with the connector on the motherboard.

Also, please post your own problems (no matter how similar) in a different thread, Hijacking other threads can result in no one focusing on the original issue.
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 08:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to smackfan76
Default

Sorry, I just thought it would be better this way instead of having different threads on the same subject. I'll post my own next time.

Do you think the CMOS battery could be dead? If it was dead, would that stop me from getting any response?
smackfan76 is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

how about turning on the monitor first to warm up so you can get into the bios. Also, you may have it setup where the bios/boot info is not visible.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 12:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

It's probally just dying. My old monitor did that. It wouldn't come on until like the XP login screen, and it was really dark.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 08:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Send a message via Yahoo to smackfan76
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
It's probally just dying. My old monitor did that. It wouldn't come on until like the XP login screen, and it was really dark.
I dont think it's the monitor. I'm using the monitor right now and it works fine. When I turn the power on, and if I wait about 10 minutes or so, it sometimes kicks on. And when it does comes on, it starts with the POST. It hasn't advanced anywhere during that 10 minutes.
__________________

smackfan76 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.