Please Help Format disk prob - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2004, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 19
Default Please Help Format disk prob

Hi...a friend just called upset because she cant access her MS word files she saved on a disk(floppy). Its says the disk needs to be formatted but shes been using it all day without problems. All comps have been winXP thats shes used. I told her not to reformat disk because that will erase data..right? Any help would be very appreciated!!
__________________

Zardoz is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 01:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

does it say that when opening the file frm MS Word or My Computer. If its my computer, ask her to goto MS Word and open it frm there n vice versa.
__________________

__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 01:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 19
Default

From File/Open in MsWord:
"the disk media is not recognized. It may not be formatted. A drive is not accessible."
From My Computer it says it needs to be formatted. This is on a laptop with an external floppy drive. I dont know why they still use it...trying to break people of old habits...

Its just that it was just used today on that computer and now it says this. Im just going to get the disk from her tommorow and try accessing it on my comp. Maybe I can access it. Shes pretty comp illiterate and its hard to talk on the phone ....lol

Thanks for the help and anymore advise is appreciated.
Zardoz is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 05:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

hehe
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 04:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Zardoz use Easy Recovery or other data recovery programs to retreive the lost data. Your problem is probably related to a bad floppy or bad floppy disk drive. I would suspect the drive first. Ask her on which computer the floppy last worked on, that's most likely where the error occurred at.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

thats why i hate floppy disks, i avoid them at all costs!, i use a 64 mb usb disk and it cost me 37 aussie dollars!, i verry good investment!
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.