Please Help Choice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2004, 06:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default Please Help Choice

I just signed up to the forum, Im 15 and am not that great with computers. Im getting my own for x-mas and need to pick a graphics card and processor.

Now, i tried the search because i see you close a topic if its posted to many times, but i never found anything.

Graphics Card:

Radeon 9550 265MB AGP Card w/TV-out
-OR-
Radeon 9800SE 128MB DDR AGP Card w/ TV-out


Processor:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+/1600FSB/512MB CPU
-OR-
Intel P4 3.0 GHz/800FSB/1M HT CPU

Could you please tell me the better of each and why its the best pick compared to the other? Im a gamer, and i cant afford anything better. But for games like.. WoW or PlanetSide.

Thanks.
__________________

HolyHaretto is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

The 9800 SE you picked out is better but if you want to basically triple your video performance get a 9800 pro. It will also run WoW and planetside really nice.
__________________

__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

As for the cpu I highly reccommend you go AMD, they are better suited for gaming.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Get the AMD CPU!

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

yes tryyyy (and i know about budgets so i hear ya) to get the 9800 pro if you can, it may be more expensive but youll have it for a long time and its worth the extra. also definitely go for the amd64, its much more futureproof and lots of times faster as well, is it possible to get the amd64 3200 939? that would help you a lot too. if you cant the 754 would be ok but the 3200 (754) has 1mb of cache while the 3000 only has 512k. and this is relatively important.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Im getting it custom built, and mod it over time. My first computer and i dont have any idea how to do it myself.

But thanks for the help.
HolyHaretto is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Hmm, if I would have been in ur place, i would have preferred ATi 9800 and AMD

but, with AMD it is generally recommended to buy nvidia Graphic card. rest your choice.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

So i cant do an AMD with a 9800SE?

Those choices were the best of the lists. And it doesnt have 9800pro as a choice.

But after i get it, in like.. 5 months, ill buy the pro. But if AMD wont work with radeon's, then i dont know what.
HolyHaretto is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

well it does, as I have ran AMD on Radeon's perfectly.

if you are buying AMD Athlon, then better buy VIA chgpset board to run the Radeon Beautifully, and spend some money mre to buyu 9800PRO 128MB version, that will be best choice
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

This is the set up for it.

Platform: K8NHA Athlon 64 ATX Mid-Tower Chassis w/ 350W PS
Branding Pack: Systemax Foxconn ATX Branding Pack

Ascent PCs (AMD Based Business Solutions): Systemax Ascent 64 A30

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3000+/1600FSB/512MB CPU

Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP2

Memory: 1GB DDR333 PC2700 Non-ECC Memory (512MB x 2)

Hard Drive: Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive 80GB (7200 RPM)

Second Hard Drive (cannot mix IDE/SATA): No second hard drive selected

Optical Drive: 16X DVD ROM Drive

Second Optical Drive (cannot be same as primary): 52x32x52 CDRW Drive

Backup Drive: No Backup Drive selected
Memory Card Reader: No Card Reader Selected
Video Card: ATI Radeon 9800SE 128MB DDR AGP Card w/ TV-Out
Sound Card: Integrated Audio
TV Tuner Card: No TV Tuner Card Selected

Modem: No Modem Selected
Network Card: Integrated 10/100 Network Adapter
Keyboard: Systemax 104 Black Keyboard
Mouse: Systemax Black Scroll Mouse
Microsoft Office Application: No Software Bundle Selected
Anti-Virus Software: CA eTrust InnoculateIT Anti-Virus Software
Speakers: Cyber Acoustics 2016 2-Piece Speakers
__________________

HolyHaretto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.