Please explain the difference between SATA and IDE Harddrives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 01:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Arrow Please explain the difference between SATA and IDE Harddrives

Not only the differences, but what are the advantages. For example, I can look at a WD IDE ATA/100 80 gig 7200 rpm, 8 mb cache an a WD SATA with the same numbers but the SATA is more expensive. So, what can SATA offer that IDE can't?

I know I need a motherboard that can handle SATA but are there other things that I need to know with SATA besides the correct cables? Thanks.
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

IDE uses the big 40/80 pin ribbons. SATA uses much smaller ones.
Higher RPM usually means faster access times, but perhaps not in all cases.
8 Meg cache is about all you'll ever need for today's stuff, 16 is more of a marketing thing for people that think they need 16 to look cool. The difference in your everyday useage will not be noticable.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 04:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Nuke, nice and clear. Thanks! So an IDE ATA 100 Harddrive with 8mb cache is quite fine for video editing, burning, transferring, gaming, etc. Correct?
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

yeah..
nuke is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

An IDE hard drive is as good for anything as a SATA drive is. The only difference is that SATA cables are significantly smaller so it helps with cable management.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

SATA and IDE are interfaces. the way the hard drive communicates with the motherboard.
IDE = normal ATA, or paralell ATA, and like nuke said, has wide ribbon cables
SATA has much thinner cables, are better for airflow and can transfer more data at a time (150MB/S for Version 1, 300MB/S for Version 2) where IDE/ATA/PATA can transfer a maximum of 133MB/S

although the speed of the hard drive itself restricts how much output you get. most hard drives can transfer about 50-60MB/s, which is under the IDE limit. and this includes SATA drives as well. they're basically the same except for the interface.

the most SATA does ATM is incease airflow, and make it easier to plug the cable in.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Okay, let's say I decide to go with a SATA. Now mind you I only have ever worked with IDE interface with no problems whatsoever. Are SATA's more difficult in terms of steps in installing and if so what are those steps?
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 10:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

I was going to start the same topic!

I noticed that SATA is the future, and the prices have dropped. I already have a IDE drive with 8mb cache that has 200GB(but due to a little problem when installing windows, ended up with 133) and the computer is running fine.

I was wondering if you can boot from a SATA drive and still have the IDE drives running at the same time. Because I want to duplicate my current drive to a SATA drive and then reformat to get back my 200GB and use it as a secondary drive for storing the stuff I don't use.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 10:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If anything SATA is easier to configure. each drive gets its own connection, No double drives on a single cable, therefore there are no jumpers to set as in slave or master. (I think).
Ste is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 10:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

SATA=smaller cables and more money. really only useful if you want to go out for maybe a WD Raptor in my opinion.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.