please check - CPU SOFT MENU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2005, 01:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default please check - CPU SOFT MENU?

Hi, I have just done a mobo swap with 2 of my comps and I am trying to install windows. But I have a problem,

When I turn the comp on there is an error message in the DOS boot screen that says: "CPU is unworkable or has been changed. Please recheck - CPU SOFT MENU".

well, first of all the CPU had better be workable cuz its freakin new. second of all I say "duh" the 'or has been changed' part of the error.

I have gone into bios and have done the "load fail-safe defaults" thing.... nothing changes

I have gone into the "SoftMenu III Setup" which I think is the 'CPU SOFT MENU' the error was talking about but there is nothing in there I can change or know what to change things to.

My question: What do I do?

FYI:
mobo: ABIT NF7-M
cpu: AMD 1500+
os (as soon as I get past this problem): WinXPproSP1

pre-thanx for your assistance.
__________________

Seria is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 02:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

anybody have any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try taking out the battery for a minute, and unplug the pwoer. this should erase the memory in the CMOS, so it will not have any record of previous CPU's (which it may have been tested with)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 02:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

wont that make it loose bios all together?
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 02:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

is there any any danger in removing the battery?
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 02:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

no there isnt, you probably have a CMOS clearing thing, just look in the manual for it and it will say how. But i have the same Brand mobo, Abit IC7-G and it sometimes says that but i just enter the bios and then exit and its done.
comrad is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 03:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it will lose power and not retain the options, therefore resetting them to default, the main BIOS software is permanent
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 09:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Clear Bios as suggested & make sure the CPU settings (FSB, voltage etc) are correct. The error message you are getting does not always mean there's anything wrong with the CPU or it's settings.
If you still get a problem after this, look for the setting that determines which errors cause the system to halt - usually termed something like 'halt on ...all errors' etc. If you have such a setting, try changing it to halt on 'no errors' or 'disk & key only'.

Regardless of whether you change anything in the Bios or not, save the settings anyway & do a warm reboot immediately after the system restarts (ie CTRL-ALT-DEL). I usually find this stops the message coming up again.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.