Please advise on $2500 PC for videowork - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 07:35 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by glasseye
Mmm Opterons. So how do those chips compare to a MP2800+ ? Are they worth paying more than twice as much for? and would II have the issue with windows where I have to pay loads extra for a special license permitting more than 2 processors?

That Seagate isn't SATA! Do you think 2x 250gbMaxtorDimondMax10 in RAID0 would be good?
Yeah the Opterons are quite a bit better than XP based chips, a much better artechtechture and alot better media instructions.

If you do end up getting maxtor drives, remeber to ALWAYS backup everything somewhere. Maxtor hold a slight speed advantage over seagate and western digital, but are nowhere near as reliable.

Just get something like apokilyspes system, get 1 gig of ram now and pick up anther gig later.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 08:11 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
Default

Hmm. Okay, thanks apokalipse. I'll look into Seagates then, are they really more reliable? I had no idea.. I just saw the bigger cache and NCQ on the DM10s and thought yay..

Alright, I'll get the 2nd GB of RAM later.

Any idea about issues I might have with the CPUs coming up as 4 virtual CPUs (I would need that license wouldn't I?)

And this Tyan Thunder K8W is the only one worth looking at?
__________________

glasseye is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:41 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

What kind of video work are you doing? If it is not some VERY intensive 3-d creation work then you definitely dont need a 6800GT or Ultra. A 6600GT would be more than enough. I edit video at work and we have something like a Radeon 9200 that handles the 3-D transtions just fine. You'd be WAY better off investing in 2gb of ram. The video card wont be doing all that much unless you are using a lot of 3-d graphics.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 12:47 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
Default

I make videos that fall somewhere between home-video enthusiast and broadcast standard. Using Premiere Pro to edit projects usually between 30 mins and 2 hours for local organisations or community projects. Probably not going to be doing much 3D stuff, I just hoped my budget would let me get a card that not only let me do simple 3D design in After Effects and stuff but also let me play some games..! I have to prioritise the work side of this system, it's not for my pleasure. For dual monitors, do I need anything but a reasonable graphics card such as the Radeon 9600 or Nvidia 6600 or something?
glasseye is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 05:19 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by glasseye
Hmm. Okay, thanks apokalipse. I'll look into Seagates then, are they really more reliable? I had no idea.. I just saw the bigger cache and NCQ on the DM10s and thought yay..

Alright, I'll get the 2nd GB of RAM later.

Any idea about issues I might have with the CPUs coming up as 4 virtual CPUs (I would need that license wouldn't I?)

And this Tyan Thunder K8W is the only one worth looking at?
I've heard about many Maxtor drives failing, and only a couple about Seagate

there are other dual socket 940 motherboards available, but I think this one is one of the better ones. Tyan always have very good motherboard architecture, and it is harder to find dual socket 940 motherboards with AGP
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 06:41 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
Default

I'm just writing up the final draft for the component list now, I'll post it today.

The only thing I'm still in 2 minds about now is graphics cards. It WOULD be a shame not to be able to take advatage of this meachine in the gamesworld, as well as openGL 3D work..(!) But I'm just not even going to drown myself in that market, I'll just do whatever you say. You know my budget doesn't have a huge accomodation for graphics, but yeah. It's all choices isn't it. PCIe/SLI? or ATI?..
glasseye is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:26 AM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Really a graphics card is not that important.

Still, because of the artechture of that machinne (dual CPU, ECC RAM) it will not be a top peformer in gaming, games are not written for 2 CPU's.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:31 AM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
Default

I see. Well that said, will it run Half Life 2, Doom 3, Swat 4 for example? and if so, tell me which card you recommend and I'll get it!
glasseye is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:43 AM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

a 6600gt is an awesome card and is only $200, so you'll have enough $ left for more important parts
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:41 AM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by glasseye
I see. Well that said, will it run Half Life 2, Doom 3, Swat 4 for example? and if so, tell me which card you recommend and I'll get it!
It still should be able to run them, not as well as a dedicated gaming PC.

Expisally if you like doom3, get a 6600GT, does dual monitors as well

Note: If you want to use TV as well, you can only have 1 TV + 1 monitor or 2 monitors
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.