playing Halo on a supercomputer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2004, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default playing Halo on a supercomputer

how fast are super computers like IBM's RS/6000 SP supercomputer in MHZ or GHZ. and how much memory do they have, i know there totally different than desktop komputers, and that there really huge. but imagine running applications and playing games with a thing like that.

i bet the government guys probably play games on them...lol

what do they use these comps for anyway
__________________

Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to mokelizer Send a message via Yahoo to mokelizer
Default

supercomputers, mass networking i can tell your the military uses these to utilize or email service, the server rooms are FUGGIN huge, oh god, dreamy
__________________

mokelizer is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

www.top500.org

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

The pictures of the Earth Sim. server room, are impressive!

http://www.es.jamstec.go.jp/esc/eng/GC/index.html
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

wow i thought those server rooms were a bunch of regular computers working together tho, is this true?
Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

servers have to be very fast with data transfer and huge with memory.

imagine an internet server running on 14.4 with 1000s of people all trying to connect
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Turbo-Athlon5
wow i thought those server rooms were a bunch of regular computers working together tho, is this true?
Pretty much... this is the summary found at http://www.top500.org about Virginia Tech's X, a super computer powered by Apple:

The G5 cluster contains 1100 Apple G5 systems each having two IBM PowerPC 970 processors rated at 2 GHz. Each node has 4GB of main memory and 160GB of Serial ATA storage. 176TB total secondary storage. 4 head nodes for compilations/job startup. 1 Management node.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 07:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Mac G5's rock
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 08:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default

just think of your computer beside another computer beside another computer and so on, the only downside is that each computer doesnt add more speed like 3ghz + 3 ghz + 3ghz, it only does what it can and sends the info to other comps while other comps send info to that comp, just like dual CPU's it doesnt use it simultaneously, it switches every so often.
StyleZz is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 12:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yup, exactly right. These PCs aren't primarily built to maintain speed (although this is a thought, I'm sure)
But it is mainly workload.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.