Playing consoles on PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2006, 08:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default Playing consoles on PC

Hey everyone,

I don't have a TV anymore in my room (at least it don't work right), and I have no way to play any of my consoles, especially the new ones coming out.

Anyhow, I'm thinking of this monitor:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824112160

But I'm not sure of how the quality will be. I want something with HIGH quality (like I'm playing my console on a regular TV).

I'm also up for a USB 2.0 TV-tuner box. Something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814144505

Like above, I can really use because I have a laptop, two desktops, a video camera that I could record some of my old memories on to DVDs..

I'd pay for the monitor if it gets better quality for gaming (that's what I want the most), but if the USB TV-tuner is going to give me better quality then the LCD, then I'll get the TV tuner instead.

So if you have any ideas, or tips, let me know !

Thanks!
__________________

__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

well, you could always get a better monitor and ten buy a Composite to VGA converter.

Here are three, i know it says for xbox, but it will work for any composite source: VGA Adapter
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Meh.. 500:1 aspect ratio and 12ms..


Bro, you are better off geting a crt.
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 10:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kitire
Bro, you are better off geting a crt.
or a better lcd with a composite to vga adapter so hw can use if for comp and tv
kfc469 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default

Right now I have basically the same exact LCD, except it's only 17".

And I love the LCD I have, it's great for everything I do.
__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.