Planning on getting my First Desktop - Page 14 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2005, 12:56 AM   #131 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Schurmy thats a great looking system and I can guarantee you that the monarch computers 3Dmark05 scores, which test the power of the PC, will be much higher than the Dells, also a stronger power supply will be more reliable, it won't be loaded with the BS that dell loads on the computer and sometimes even runs in the background eating up resources.

My only input in the conversation - Norton is good, but there are also 2 other alternatives that are a little less money, like PC cillin which you can download from newegg for cheap, or AVG free anti virus, it is what I use and it's excellent.

Pick one of those anti viruses,also download ad-aware and spybot on it for your anti spyware & run that on occassion.

You should consider getting just the tower from monarch, and go to newegg.com to get your monitor, mouse, speakers, office software, etc.

I personally like this monitor for the price, features & guarantee:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824138022

or this 19"

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824009044
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 06:30 PM   #132 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I would get the 2nd one cuz its got a lower refresh rate - 8ms as opposed to 12ms. either should be fine though.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 07:38 PM   #133 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

hey, look here to compare SM2 with SM3, and see why we told you to not get the X850 XT PE...

http://www.hardfeed.com/srv/ramp/article/445.html

also, Dells only make Intel systems, which are HORRIBLE for games... AMD's perform a lot better... a 3000+ AMD beats a 3.8GHZ Intel at HL2.. pretty sad
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 07:59 PM   #134 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

Although the dell isn't the first choice for a lot of people here in this case it sounds like you already made up ur mind about the dell. It will be able to play bf2 on high settings, although you are loosing money by getting the dell also the only way to upgrade is through dell, and ur upgrade parts will be outdated. As for the free monitor you mentioned, I would go with a CRT, as the only lcd's that are comparable to CRT's in terms of refresh rate are really expensive, and dell isn't known for giving out expensive stuff as free upgrades.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 01:01 PM   #135 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Where do u live Schurmy?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:26 PM   #136 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 135
Default

why do you want to know were i live
__________________
--*(ScHuRmY)*--
Schurmy is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 07:47 AM   #137 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

So if he lives in the same area, he can build it for you if u just order the parts from newegg
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 01:46 PM   #138 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 135
Default

okay i was looking at the battlfield 2 forum at www.planetbattlefield.com and many ppl have problem with BF2 and most of those ppl are running an AMD processor that have problems and ppl with a pentium 4 with ATI graphics cards are having it run as smooth as butter no lie check yourself thats good news for you Dhw200 with the Grahpics card at least.
__________________
--*(ScHuRmY)*--
Schurmy is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 01:47 PM   #139 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 135
Default

So im going with a pentium 4 with the ATI Radeon X850 XT
__________________
--*(ScHuRmY)*--
Schurmy is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 02:34 PM   #140 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 135
Default

there is two versions of battlfield 2 cd version and the dvd version which is the best.
__________________

__________________
--*(ScHuRmY)*--
Schurmy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.