PIII 450 mhz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2004, 11:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Default PIII 450 mhz

i have this computer thats a p3 450mhz with 178mb ram and 8gb
hard drive. i was wonder what i could use it for since there isnt much use for it since it cant handle being a file server or anything. any suggestion welcome.
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS Gen 2
[Gallatin] Northwood P4 Extreme Edition 3.2 @3.46 --->(CPUCOOL)
PC3200 1.5GB
ATI 9800XT
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Maxtor 120gb IDE
Hitachi 250gb SATA
Windows XP PRO SP2
Teac DVD+RW
Samsung CD-R/RW

3DMark01 20772
3DMark03 7190
Dell XPS is offline  
Old 03-23-2004, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Default

oh yeah i was wondering i could turn it into a firewall. does anybody know how to do that and it i need to buy software for me to be able to do this?
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS Gen 2
[Gallatin] Northwood P4 Extreme Edition 3.2 @3.46 --->(CPUCOOL)
PC3200 1.5GB
ATI 9800XT
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Maxtor 120gb IDE
Hitachi 250gb SATA
Windows XP PRO SP2
Teac DVD+RW
Samsung CD-R/RW

3DMark01 20772
3DMark03 7190
Dell XPS is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 02:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I had some extra parts from customers exchanging for newer parts. I kept the parts and was able to build a few PCs out of them. They were around the same specs as this one. I threw a hotswap drive bay in each as a second hard drive and had a few drives (about 7) floating around with songs, software, and movies. It'll work great as a file server. I wouldn't use it as a medium between you and the internet. You may be dissapointed with the results. But just as file/print server works great. Not too much stress and you can just leave it a corner with an extra large sencond hard drive always powered on. Once you get your network going you can either use a KVM switch and do without the extra Monitor, Keyboard, and mouse. Or just set it on the network and off to the side somewhere and just use a Remote Administering application to access the machine for maintenence, reboots, etc.
**Just some thoughts**

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Default

thanks for the reply mikesgroovin

so my rig is able to handle a 300 gb hard drive? so even though its slow u still would be able to make it a file server. if so thats cool and what hard drive would you recommend mikesgroovin?
__________________
Dell XPS Gen 2
[Gallatin] Northwood P4 Extreme Edition 3.2 @3.46 --->(CPUCOOL)
PC3200 1.5GB
ATI 9800XT
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Maxtor 120gb IDE
Hitachi 250gb SATA
Windows XP PRO SP2
Teac DVD+RW
Samsung CD-R/RW

3DMark01 20772
3DMark03 7190
Dell XPS is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 03:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the capacity depends on the mobo, could you list the mobo type so we can research on what it is capable on
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.