A piece of hardware im looking for... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2009, 03:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default A piece of hardware im looking for...

hi, i need a wireless Ethernet hub (im not sure if thats what its called).
the features of the product i need are:
ethernet(wired) or wifi(wireless) - in
ethernet(wired) and wifi(wireless) - out

is there anything like that out there, if so what is the price?
__________________

Dasanator is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: A piece of hardware im looking for...

How many ports do you need? You are basically describing an ordinary wireless router at the moment, because they usually have an ethernet 5-port switch included.

If you need more ethernet ports, attach an ethernet switch to the wireless router via an ethernet cable.

Ethernet Switches: Newegg.com - Network Switch, Linksys Switch, Wired Network Switch, Netgear Switch, ProCurve Switch, Stackable Switch
Wireless Routers: Newegg.com - wireless router
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: A piece of hardware im looking for...

okay im not too technical, but this is the problem, my router is upstairs on one side of the house and my x box(which is only wired) is downstairs on the other side. I cant get wifi down there at all, and there no cable or ethernet ports down stairs. so i need this device to ?boost? the wifi signal that is already there and put it out again, while also have ethernet ports...
thanks
Dasanator is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: A piece of hardware im looking for...

You would be wanting what is called a range extender. Although, another simple solution would be to either purchase a router with a larger initial range, or have an electrician wire your house for an ethernet port downstairs. If you can't get any signal at all, even with a range extender it will be a much weaker signal.

Having the electrician run an ethernet link from the upstairs router to the downstairs location would probably be the best option. Wired is always better than wi-fi for gaming. You could also run it through vents or just down the stairs yourself if you want a less permanent and cheaper solution.

I've used a 100ft ethernet cable to run from the basement all the way up to the upstairs bedroom one time when I was desperate for my Xbox Live. Now, though, in my apartment everything is wired up by the TV so it's all right there.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: A piece of hardware im looking for...

You will need a signal booster or repeater. Along with another router. The booster to boost the signal to get it across the house and then the router at the other end to connect to the XBOX.

Of course you could just run a cable. As long as you dont extend it past 100 meter you should be alright. That is 328 Feet. So i think you could drop a cable down to your basement, run it across the basement and back up to the room where the XBOX is and still have cable left over.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: A piece of hardware im looking for...

I have two edimax ew-7209APg units and they have been great but the DVE power adaptors they come with have broken 2/3 times for me.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FEAR 2 feb 2009 Poizen22 PC Gaming 114 02-18-2009 11:11 AM
server vs pc hardware ChrisX New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-23-2008 03:34 PM
First time builder - Need help picking hardware (gaming PC) Nevin New Systems | Building and Buying 15 03-12-2008 05:34 PM
Got an old piece of Gigabyte hardware? b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 10-30-2007 04:24 AM
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.