Pic of Running Dual GPU 6800Ultra - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2005, 07:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

This card is gonna be a beast, and it will destroy SLI once and for all. good riddance
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 07:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Blasphemy!
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 08:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol senseless....the paragraph above explained your opinion better than before hand....made your perception more clear of why you don't like it.

Quote:
i remember someone saying that soon its not going to be a graphics card, but a graphics box. this card has just made it closer to that point. that thing must be a monster.
Well I've said that quite a few times...that it's basically becoming it's own motherboard and they will need a seperate cooled box with a high speed interlink cable....and you'll be able to swap out GPU's because it'll have sockets like CPU's and add memory to it and such lol.

Anywho...back to what you were saying senseless (lol at blasphemy BTW).....SLI was pointless to begin with....it was like a quick diversion to produce quick high benchmark scores instead of focusing on a single card bomb-double-o-dizzle solution...

also I don't think it was Nvidia who went out of their way to make the dual GPU, as of right now it's purely ASUS....there is no nvidia reference design board for this I don't think, so I think this is ASUS's own doing....

Also I do remember hearing way back when that they MAY infact bring out SLI for those dual GPU kinds of cards, whether it's that exact one I don't know, but I know I remember reading an article about using 4 GPU's at once, but who knows....seems like it'd require some insane drivers and coding for games.....plus there'd need to be a lot more space between PCI-E slots......

Personally I've said this for a while now, but I'm a bigger advocate of a dual GPU solution than SLI....1 card is always easier to handle than two....chances of it being less buggy are appearant and a ridiculous amount of extra coding isn't needed to make it work.

2 dual GPU cards would set you up for life lol...........but yeah if they come out with SLI for it....I expect you to send me your current GT's
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 08:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Ill send you my X850 XT if i get one :P


if its Asus, its guranteed to be crappy and buggy...
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 09:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
lol senseless....the paragraph above explained your opinion better than before hand....made your perception more clear of why you don't like it.


Sorry, im used to being at work where i say something and everyone listens.. as opposed to actually having to explain myself indepth=p

If they did come out with an SLI version i'd switch over to liquid cooling.. Wouldnt have any problem fitting 2 in my case at that point.

edit:

oh, and asus sucks..

I wonder if they'll ever come out with SLI dual core dual gpu cards =D 8x gpus in 1 machine.. You could decode the human genome with that kind of power!
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 09:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

the tubing would be the beeootch part, but they do have slim versions of the maze4 specifically for SLI'd cards....but yeah ASUS does suck...give me an eVGA version and I'm sold
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 09:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

All I can say is OMG! That could eat me!!! Hopefully performance makes up for it's monstrous size
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 09:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 123
Default

Im sorry for getting this simpsons quote wrong. but i believe a 1970s era professor frink said something like 'by the year 2000 computers will be 1000 times faster and 1000 times larger.' Looks like we're getting there.
the drizzle is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 09:33 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

....


I want that card, but im afraid my case is to small for it :-\

Wonder how heavy it is....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 10:21 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

WOAH!! That's HUGE! That probably won't fit in some cases, midtower etc. Man, that card is bigger than my motherboard!
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.