Pic of ATI Crossfire - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2005, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Arrow Pic of ATI Crossfire

From theinquirer.net:

Quote:
WE TOLD you many times before about ATI's way of doing SLI commercially known as Crossfire and now we have a picture of His Majesty the famous dongle and the board itself.

Even though Nvidia US thinks of me as ATI biased, the Canadian firm never showed me this system up and running while every other NDA journalist has seen it at least once, while most grovelly and bum sucking have seen it three times now.

Crossfire will be based on two chipsets - one Pentium 775 read powered with RD400 Northbridge and ATI's SB450 Southbridge. In Crossfire ATI cards works as dual 8X PCIe cards. This board is codenamed Stingray.

The second board is based on Athlon 64 / FX socket for AMD CPUs and using RD480 Northbridge and SB450 Southbridge with dual 8X PCIe cards.

Monsieur Le Dongle will connect to two DVI outs and should provide you with lossless quality, although your wallet will be lighter by a lossful quantity after you've lashed out the money for the stuff. Below, you can see the board, cards and dongle itself.


http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=23569
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 01:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Yay, been waiting for this too happen, although I just bought a laptop and wouldn't spend that much for it. Now I'd like to know the performance of this against the Nvidia SLI's.
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Why two PCIe 8x instead of one 16x card?
Brently is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brently
Why two PCIe 8x instead of one 16x card?
??????

cards don't even use up to x8 bandwidth yet, so 2 cards at x8 has the performance of two cards while one card at x16 will give you the performance of one card
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 02:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

I have a question Trotter, I am going to get a DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 ULTRA-D nForce4 Mobo for a system Im going to build...It supports SLI, however the video card... A Leadtek PX6800GT TDH Geforce 6800GT has a huge fan and heatsink, and I am told that two of those wont fit on that Mobo...I was referred to an Asus Mobo that fit two of those, but I wanted to ask is SLI worth switching Mobo's? Or should I keep the setup I already have? I just want to know this in case if it is worth it, then I can start off with it, instead of buying the Asus later down the road and then another of those 6800's...

Thanks
__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
The second board is based on Athlon 64 / FX socket for AMD CPUs and using RD480 Northbridge


I am confused. AMD doesnt use northbridges. I assume this wouldnt replace the memory controller, but rather acts as a high-speed hub for the vid cards.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 03:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

stay with the ultra D knownothing, it isnt really worth getting SLI
contry is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 03:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

No its not. However, you could also remove the heatsinks and put a smaller aftermarket cooler on them if u wanted to
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 03:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KnowNothing
I have a question Trotter, I am going to get a DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 ULTRA-D nForce4 Mobo for a system Im going to build...It supports SLI, however the video card... A Leadtek PX6800GT TDH Geforce 6800GT has a huge fan and heatsink, and I am told that two of those wont fit on that Mobo...I was referred to an Asus Mobo that fit two of those, but I wanted to ask is SLI worth switching Mobo's? Or should I keep the setup I already have? I just want to know this in case if it is worth it, then I can start off with it, instead of buying the Asus later down the road and then another of those 6800's...

Thanks
If they dont fit, you can put Nvidia Silincers on them

Just dont buy Asus
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 03:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

From a couple of other articles posted on theinquirer.net it seems that to use Crossfire, you have to buy a Master Card (not the credit card). ATI has already said that they were going to do the Master Cards themselves (no other manufacturer).

Is SLI (or the ATI equivelent) worth it? Good question. It all boils down to two basic things:

1. Are you a serious, hard-core 3D gamer? These are the ones who gain the most benefit from SLI. Are you willing to spend this much for a special motherboard, two high-end video cards, and PSU that is up to task?

2. Can you even afford to drop this much change on this? Most of the hardware involved in this is way out of the "cheap" ballpark. Do you have the resources to do this?

In the end, the decision is yours. I know, for me, SLI (or ATI's version) would not be practical. I don't do first person shooters for the most part, but the games I do play work fine on the old BFG I have.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.