PG248Q Somesort of greyish overlay? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2016, 05:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Default PG248Q Somesort of greyish overlay?

had this exact same problem with another monitor i bought, its as if theres a constant grey all over the screen making it look kind of misty.
I fixed this on my other monitor by changing a few settings but i just cant fix it on this monitor
Any help at all wont go unnoticed.
__________________

__________________
Dampel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 07:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
AR ML AI <3
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 9,038
Default Re: PG248Q Somesort of greyish overlay?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dampel View Post
had this exact same problem with another monitor i bought, its as if theres a constant grey all over the screen making it look kind of misty.
I fixed this on my other monitor by changing a few settings but i just cant fix it on this monitor
Any help at all wont go unnoticed.
Hmm ?

Hard to know what you mean. Can you take a picture of the screen with a decent camera and make it look as close to in real life as possible ?

Could be many things:

Brightness too high = washed out colors
Contrast too low = dull colors
Strong anti glare coatings on the screen can lead to duller images
Color setting too low
__________________

__________________

Apple MacBook Pro 2019
i9 2.3Ghz 8-core.
16GB DDR4
1TB SSD
Radeon Pro Vega 20
LG 34 Ultrawide NanoIPS
CalTech TS3+ Dock
Genelec 8010A Studio Monitors

kmanmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 11:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Default Re: PG248Q Somesort of greyish overlay?

imgur.com/c5sIz2a

Its the best quality I could do
__________________
Dampel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
AR ML AI <3
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 9,038
Default Re: PG248Q Somesort of greyish overlay?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dampel View Post
imgur.com/c5sIz2a

Its the best quality I could do
Yeah that looks like you have the brightness cranked up way too high. Also, do you have RGB set to Full or Limited in the Nvidia Control Panel ? assuming you have an Nvidia GPU.
__________________

Apple MacBook Pro 2019
i9 2.3Ghz 8-core.
16GB DDR4
1TB SSD
Radeon Pro Vega 20
LG 34 Ultrawide NanoIPS
CalTech TS3+ Dock
Genelec 8010A Studio Monitors

kmanmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 11:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Default Re: PG248Q Somesort of greyish overlay?

I've set the brightness quite low but it's still there, I have no idea what your talking about
__________________
Dampel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
AR ML AI <3
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 9,038
Default Re: PG248Q Somesort of greyish overlay?

https://i.gyazo.com/1d7e182084d49769...98c28df1f9.png

"Output dynamic range", bottom right hand corner.
__________________

Apple MacBook Pro 2019
i9 2.3Ghz 8-core.
16GB DDR4
1TB SSD
Radeon Pro Vega 20
LG 34 Ultrawide NanoIPS
CalTech TS3+ Dock
Genelec 8010A Studio Monitors

kmanmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 12:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Default Re: PG248Q Somesort of greyish overlay?

Yeah mine the exact same as that
__________________
Dampel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 08:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
sleepy3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Default Re: PG248Q Somesort of greyish overlay?

My Asus monitors do that if I use the HDMI inputs in them. Switched to DVI and they work flawlessly. Dont know why. Some people tweek the color setting and fix it and troubleshoot and figure it out. I just tried the DVI cable and it looked great. Looked the problem up and a bunch of people say the same thing.
__________________

__________________
sleepy3103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA video overlay cutting edges of image and_woox Microsoft Windows and Software 4 09-15-2011 09:23 PM
Video Editing Software to remove overlay spam? Shafra Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-04-2007 08:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.