Is this performance ok? (regarding CS:S Performance test) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 05:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Nubius mine reverts to 0xAA on 6xAA settings I belive, but it shows 6xAA
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 05:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Well according to 90% of the people on these forums the 6600 GT is a top-of-the-line card so I don't see how comparing it to mine would be pointless. He could see how his measures up to the best card for that game so he knows exactly what he isn't getting, see? Ok not quite the best, but 2nd best after x850xt pe.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 05:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Well according to 90% of the people on these forums the 6600 GT is a top-of-the-line card so I don't see how comparing it to mine would be pointless.
Don't know who you're talking to, but no one says the 6600GT is the top of the line card. It's the best performance/price ratio there is, that's all.

It's not just your card dale, 2gb of high performance memory, his isn't even PC3200 muchless 2gb of it, a 10K rpm drive, your processor alone, theres tons of contributors that would make your system destroy his. It wouldn't even be worth comparing.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 06:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
Well according to 90% of the people on these forums the 6600 GT is a top-of-the-line card so I don't see how comparing it to mine would be pointless. He could see how his measures up to the best card for that game so he knows exactly what he isn't getting, see? Ok not quite the best, but 2nd best after x850xt pe.
They may come close, but their's a 3x price difference or something
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 07:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Nublet, I said "a" top of the line card, not "the" top. And I don't think it's wrong to consider it a top-of-the-line card. If it runs a lot of games at good settings I think it's definitely a top of the line. I mean the price of the x800 xl has dropped to about $290 and I don't know who wouldn't consider this a top of the liner.

Personally I would like to start a debate comparing the price and performance of the x800 xl with the 6600 gt. Because I think as the x800 xl drops in price it will rival the 6600 gt as the #1 high-performance budget card.

And DJ I'm sure my system was at least 3 times as expensive. But I got some things that were very expensive that probably didn't need to be. Like that little raptor hard drive set me back $140. And the monitor was about $300. But he has an AMD and a NVIDIA so he should be able to own my computer no matter what since AMD/NVIDIA > Intel/ATI
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

I think my cardclock speeds came at 300/500 which compared to other Geforce6600GT is quite ****e.
ApM is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Nublet, I said "a" top of the line card, not "the" top
lol Nublet? oook ummmm daley boy? But yeah I see what you're saying about "A" top card. Although I've still basically seen it referenced as the best performing budget card, but we're basically saying the same thing.


Quote:
Because I think as the x800 xl drops in price it will rival the 6600 gt as the #1 high-performance budget card.
Wouldn't doubt it, buuut the 6600GT is dropping price as well. Just two weeks ago I paid $199 for the eVGA and now it's $179! Doh! lol...dang price changes...I have a friend who just bought the X800XL actually, he got it for $289.

Quote:
AMD/NVIDIA > Intel/ATI
Nah, that might be prone here or something but I don't think that's really true. I have two friends that are AMD and ATI. Friends house I'm at right now is 2400+ XP and 9600XT 256mb, friend that I was at a LAN with had 2500+ XP-M and had a 6800, regular, but he blatently told me he's a big ATI fan, that's why he's getting the X800XL
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Ok I'm starting a thread let the flame battles begin!
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

FLAMES ARE BAD. ™


ApM is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 09:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 111
Default

my card (sig) got a 7404 in 3dmark03. But in CS:S testi get 104 fps with meduim settings at 1024 x 980 (i think thats the resolution). I get bad fps in cs_compound (20-50) and a couple other maps. i can play farcry and doom 3 on high no problem. i think cs source jus hates me .
__________________

r1c3_808 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.