Perfomance problems with ATI X800XT PE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2005, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default Perfomance problems with ATI X800XT PE

I've just bough a Sapphire Radeon X800XT PE. I've used Aquamark 3 to test the card, and got a score of around 53000. This is compared to the 60000 that a site that reviewed the card claimed it got. I had to turn alot of the cards settings down to get that score (AAx4 AFx2 Trueform, Smartshader, V-Sync all OFF)

In games the performance is alot lower than what I was expecting. I've spoken to other users with the same graphics card and they claim that they can get much higher frame rates than I can.

I've recently updated the graphics card and motherboard drivers to the lastest avaliable, but this has not solved the problem.

Temperatures seem to be OK. CPU never goes much abouve 40-50*C and the graphics card is around 40-45*C.

Any ideas why I'm getting this performance drop? And could a complete wipe of the hard drive (or even a new one - it's a few years old) solve any potential problems.

My system:

Intel P4 3.2 GHz
Gigabyte GA-8IG1000MK Motherboard
Sapphire ATI Radeon X800 XT PE 256MB
1.5 GB DDR RAM
Aerocool Aeropower 2 450W PSU
Win XP Home SP2

Thanks for any help.
-Phil
__________________

philbrown is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Beedubaya is having the same exact problem that you are having with his ATi video card. I think he said he was going to try updating the BIOS on his video card, maybe you should do the same.

EDIT: Also, are you sure that you're using the same version of AquaMark as the site that reviewed the card?

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

What card did you move from. Moving from Nvidia to ATI without a fresh format can cause problems.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Upgraded from an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro. Never had a Nvidia in this system.

The card hasen't been out that long. Are there even any BIOS' avaliable for it? And is it even possible?

I was expecting to snap this new £350 card in and experience much higher performance, and so far it's not been that much better over the old 9800.

I'm convinced there's some sort of hardware fault somewhere. I'm doing a wipe of the hard drive tomorrow to eliminate software issues from the list.

I know the card can run faster than it is, others who have it told me it can. Very frustrating!!

-Phil
philbrown is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

beedubaya and OIDanTheMoronIO,

This is the 10th time I am going to say this...

A friend of mine had the EXACT same problem as beedubaya. He was experiencing great performance in HL2 + 3DMark05, but then when it came to Doom 3, this guy would literally see like 2-4 FPS. I had him install the OpenGL package and OpenGL Win XP dependancies. Right now his frame rate NEVER drops below 120 FPS in Doom 3 @ 6x AA, 16x AF!


philbrown,

Did you install the AGP controller drivers? This will have a huge impact on performance.
SanToast is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SanToast
beedubaya and IODanTheMoronOI,

This is the 10th time I am going to say this...

A friend of mine had the EXACT same problem as beedubaya. He was experiencing great performance in HL2 + 3DMark05, but then when it came to Doom 3, this guy would literally see like 2-4 FPS. I had him install the OpenGL package and OpenGL Win XP dependancies. Right now his frame rate NEVER drops below 120 FPS in Doom 3 @ 6x AA, 16x AF!


philbrown,

Did you install the AGP controller drivers? This will have a huge impact on performance.
Please link me to to the OpenGL WinXP dependancies.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 05:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

beedubaya, did u not receive my PM!?!?!?
SanToast is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 05:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SanToast
beedubaya, did u not receive my PM!?!?!?
My mailbox was full. You will have to resend it. Sorry...
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 06:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Yes - a link to the OpenGL dependencies would be great.

Also, I assumed the AGP controllers were packed with the chipset drivers for the motherboard. Is this (possibly) correct?

Thanks to all for the help so far btw!
-Phil
philbrown is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 06:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

The AGP controller comes with the package but it has a seperate installation.
__________________

SanToast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.