Pentium D!!! - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2005, 04:46 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

X2 rapes the pentium D in gaming AND Apps
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 05:58 PM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I never said hyperthreading was better than dual cores. I basically said that for the price, you should probably get a hyperthreaded pentium and oc it rather than get a dual core pentium.(If i didn't say that then i'm saying it now) Thats only comparing intel with intel though.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 07:47 PM   #43 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

I said hyperthreading was better, according to tomshardware.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 08:01 PM   #44 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

ow lol.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 08:19 PM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

u guyz are all frigen AMD fan boys it makes me SICK!!!! I bet 80% of u people who use AMD's have never used and intel!!! My 3.0GHZ P4 PWNS and there is no way the amds will ever be better at multitasking until they up there L2 Cache. I would definitly kill myself if i had a 64 bit chip on 32bit OS. The 64's are not smooth on the 32OS so if u dont have the 64bitOS ur screwde!!!So fanboys calm down INTEL ALL THE WAY SOO FAR
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 08:27 PM   #46 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Btw, I hate to break this to you, but l2 cache does not affect performance on the 64 as greatly as it does on the intels. Check the sempron 3100+ overclocking on xbit.
Also, currently, intel's dual cores are 64 bit enabled i think.
Finally, your 2nd statement almost makes no sense. Most people have used intel processors. There everywhere. Even AMD freaks have used it probably, unless they used the k-5s instead of the pentiums heh.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 08:30 PM   #47 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

woot6600GT,

There is a very powerful tool on the internet, it's called google.
You can use it by visiting www.google.com

This search engine is currently searching 8,058,044,651 web page.
If you need information about something, i suggest you try using it.
Most of us here at TF use it to get all of our information. It's great try it!
HAVOC is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 08:44 PM   #48 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by timmer
u guyz are all frigen AMD fan boys it makes me SICK!!!! I bet 80% of u people who use AMD's have never used and intel!!! My 3.0GHZ P4 PWNS and there is no way the amds will ever be better at multitasking until they up there L2 Cache. I would definitly kill myself if i had a 64 bit chip on 32bit OS. The 64's are not smooth on the 32OS so if u dont have the 64bitOS ur screwde!!!So fanboys calm down INTEL ALL THE WAY SOO FAR
First of all, we all have made the statement that Intels are better in hyperthreading.... you cannot KNOW that Dual cores will be the same untill more benches come out. The current benches out say they are, but we cant know for sure, we can only asume.

I bet 100% of you hasn't used an AMD. I've used Intel 486s through P4s, surely more then you have, and I know what they do. Don't give me problems man, I know whats going on.

Your 3.0 GHz is able to own only one AMD flagship processor flat out: the AMD 64 2800+. Thats ONE processor, which isn't even in the same price range.

L2 cache has nothing to do with multitasking. Its all in the hyperthreading. The fact that Pentiums have massive caches should tell you something wrong with the archetecture.

64 bit processors don't run 32 OSes well... theres no response I can offer but no. Just.... no.

You're the fanboy here my unworthy foe. You are.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:22 PM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Okay... Well, I'll just wait till Christmas and see what's up in the CPU world. Thanks everyone.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.