Pentium or Athlon? - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2002, 11:15 PM   #61 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11
Default

AMD athlon XP 2800+ is coming up.
__________________

Futurist is offline  
Old 10-07-2002, 11:22 PM   #62 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

As well as Intel's P4 3.06ghz. More competition, and AMD's finally got 333mhz bus on 2700+ and 2800+.

Looks like Hammer won't be supported on current KT400 mobo's, due to higher pin count.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 10-08-2002, 02:53 AM   #63 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Thumbs up i prefer Athlon

if you want to spare money and at the same tome get what you want, you should get you an Athlon it's cheaper, faster...but i cant promise you that it are more stabile, but i use the Althlon and i am gonna continue to use it, i wont buy a pentium coz i have...well....not so good experience...
joiner is offline  
Old 10-08-2002, 11:47 PM   #64 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Default

Intel P4 with PC-1066 RDRAM goes beyond the AMD's.
Nitr0n is offline  
Old 10-08-2002, 11:54 PM   #65 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

For synthetic benchmarks, yes. Many real-world applications are still quite questionable.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 10-14-2002, 09:58 AM   #66 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to SePhErUm Send a message via Yahoo to SePhErUm
Default

Pentium or Athlon... That's the same as
Pepsi or Coke
Milk or chocolate milk..
I think it's all based on what you like..
I was raised on thinkinng Intel was the best.. Well i think Amd is just as good. It all depends on what you like, how much money you have.. and what your going to use the machine for.. I'm still using a pentium 2 333 and it's rather crappy.. heh.. cause it's slow.. not cause it's intel.
__________________
----------------------------------------
Brandon Cook
http://www.anarchy-industries.com
Pentium II 333MHz
96 MB Ram
Geforce 4 MX 440
2 SCSI 4GB Hdds\'
anything else?
SePhErUm is offline  
Old 10-14-2002, 06:54 PM   #67 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Well, Intel ruled back in the day of the Pentium, PII and AMD K6, K6-2, etc., but hey, for many gamers the tables have turned... nothing that can we 'really' control. But considering that Intel controls the majority of the desktop microprocessor market... hmm.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 10-16-2002, 01:01 AM   #68 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to rudalis
Default

i have always gotten pentiums before, however recently i got an athlon XP 2200+, and it has had many more problems that i ever had with a pentium. so cost-efficient as they may be, i am still undecided.
rudalis is offline  
Old 10-16-2002, 10:49 AM   #69 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to SePhErUm Send a message via Yahoo to SePhErUm
Default

If you overclock a AMD Athlon XP from 1.4 to 1.6 while the Intel Pentium 4 is clocked at 1.6.. Who will win? The AMD chipp.. (while Creating assloads of heat)
__________________
----------------------------------------
Brandon Cook
http://www.anarchy-industries.com
Pentium II 333MHz
96 MB Ram
Geforce 4 MX 440
2 SCSI 4GB Hdds\'
anything else?
SePhErUm is offline  
Old 10-16-2002, 06:50 PM   #70 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Stuff like Arctic Silver, coupled with a GOOD HSF combo will knock some degrees off, but the first step is to go through a 'semi-painful' process of unlocking.

BTW, an Athlon XP running at 1.6 (1900+) has the challenge to take on a P4 2.0A.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.