Pentium or Athlon? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2002, 03:10 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by daveppeters
i don't know why anyone would even consider a pentium, unless you are rich and have money to blow!
For the more money you pay, you get a CPU which is easier on your power supply, generates less heat, thus increasing its overclockability (for those into tweaking).
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 07-20-2002, 06:15 AM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pentium or Athlon?

Quote:
Originally posted by chopper
Hi,

What processor do you think is better? Athlon or Pentium? I'm totally behind Athlon because I own one and I haven't had any problems with it yet. I also heard that a 1.4 Athlon can beat a 1.7 Pentium. For some reason that tells me something and Athlon is cheaper as well.

Anyways, who do you preffer?
Athlon. I can always find a better deal with them than going with the Pentium procs.
__________________

AMD Soldier is offline  
Old 07-22-2002, 10:54 AM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 15
Default

From what i know Athlons are faster in 2D tasks such as opening documents, word, spreadsheets etc....where as Pentiums are better in the 3D department such as games , multimedia presentations etc..also like someone said there stable when it comes to them keeping there cool. I think its personal choice ( coke or pepsi ) ...i myself went for the Pentium 4 and im happy with it - just my opinion
UK-CD'Z is offline  
Old 07-24-2002, 02:03 AM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to GenocidePunk
Default

Lets see Athlon is used by over 65% of gamers, maybe that tells us something.
GenocidePunk is offline  
Old 07-24-2002, 02:22 AM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GenocidePunk
Lets see Athlon is used by over 65% of gamers, maybe that tells us something.
However, Intel controls more than 80% of the market.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 07-26-2002, 03:43 AM   #36 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6
Default

Personally, I have always used AMD, ever since the days of my first machine (K6 2-233).Then upgraded to a 500Mhz AMD chip. Looked to upgrade again and I found a Pentium 4 1.6Ghz chip on e-bay for £65. I bought it and got a mainboard to go with it and Ive never had a problem. My opinion is like many others in that it depends what you need it for. Incidently, those P4 chips are still on ebay (ebay.co.uk).Take a look!
nickm is offline  
Old 07-26-2002, 11:51 AM   #37 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I used to be an intel guy simply because they don't make bad chips, but as AMD progressed they too made excellent chips. I think it really is a matter of what you need and how much you have. Honestly you can't go wrong with either chip. Both companies and their chips have pros and cons. I own 6 PC's and 5 are pentium based, which run fine. They other one is Athlon based and runs great. In fact my next computer i am getting will have an Athlong XP 2000+. I have been happy with both processor lines and the reliability of both. So it really comes down to funds and personal liking.
Animedog is offline  
Old 07-26-2002, 04:32 PM   #38 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

I've always been an AMD guy, but if the Opteron isn't amazing, then my next computer will be an Intel.. AMD just hasn't been putting out anything worthwhile lately.. just a 66mhz clock increase every once in a while.. even the T-Breds aren't that great...
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 07-26-2002, 04:51 PM   #39 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Also i think it depends a lot not only on the chip ( processor ) but the overall setup of your machine, things like memory , motherboard etc etc as some types of motherboard may not go well with the processor ..for example a P4 does not run at its full potential with SDram but stick a P4 with RDram and you can really see the difference .
UK-CD'Z is offline  
Old 07-26-2002, 05:04 PM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UK-CD'Z
for example a P4 does not run at its full potential with SDram but stick a P4 with RDram and you can really see the difference .
The performance difference between SDR SDRAM and RDRAM is less than a hair thick... but since RDRAM is multi-threaded in hardware, the main significant difference is the amount of tasks which can be performed at once.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.