Pentium or Athlon? - Page 12 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2003, 05:10 AM   #111 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 9
Default

Ok,I have to reply as i just upgraded from my 1.4 athlon,and went to the darkside Intel. here's what i got.

2.66 overclocked to 3.3 stable as a rock
Gigabyte GA8INXP mobo
2x256 Kingston 2700 HyperX running in dual channel mode.
I have not upgraded anything else.

and my system beats a 3.06 pentium by about 600 points in sisoft sandra bench.

sorry to say it might be the darkside,but i think i'm stayin.

Just my 2 bits.And BTW,I got this stuff for just alittle over 6 bills,
and this was back in febuary. so it wasn't really that expensive.
__________________

mauricehenning is offline  
Old 06-15-2003, 12:14 PM   #112 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default Re: Simply Athlon

Quote:
Originally posted by c11gordo2
Oh yeah, and that bus speed thing... Check the stat's AMD's bus in only at 400 MHz top, but Intel's is 533 MHz.
here you only prove your stupidity, did you not see the linbk in the last post i submitted? it tkaes you straight to the intel site where they release, wait for it... the 800mhz fsb chipset! you should really check your info before you post, it makes you look stupid

and in case you missed it, here it is again:

intel's p4 chipsets here
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 06-15-2003, 02:37 PM   #113 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3
Default FSB Speeds

The point was simple put that Intel's FSB is faster than AMD's. This just enunciates that fact that Intel's is faster; and yes I see your point the new one is faster than the 533 MHz.

Thank you for the correction, without it these types of forums would be useless. Let's just try to be constructive...
c11gordo2 is offline  
Old 06-15-2003, 10:42 PM   #114 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 235
Default

Athlon works fine for me so I'm sticking with that.
__________________
Sig removed since I no longer post here.
stormy78 is offline  
Old 06-19-2003, 11:24 PM   #115 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Athlon RulZ

Well clearly Athlon is the BEST not only it is faster and runs better with hardley any hiccups it is da best cause it Just Is so there!
mrpark1987 is offline  
Old 06-20-2003, 02:22 AM   #116 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

I like my AthlonXP for its excellent price/performance ratio, but I like my P4 for its HyperThreading and wicked memory bandwidth. It all depends what you're doing and how much money you've got to spend
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 06-20-2003, 07:15 PM   #117 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 153
Default

þÄ®âÐÖx has the best answer. For running many apps at a time P4 is best since it has hyperthreading. For games though hyper threading does aboslutely nothing and a Barton 3000+ wipes the floor with the P4 3.06ghz.
__________________

darthparth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.