Pentium or Athlon? - Page 11 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2003, 07:49 PM   #101 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 29
Default

Steelrose,

I know what you mean.

I have an Amiga 2000 in the attic.

It was great in it's day.

Mike
__________________

Mike V is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 11:44 PM   #102 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 17
Default

I wish I could get an Amiga running at todays speeds. God that would rock. Can you imagine an Amiga running at 3 Ghz? Smoke every thing in it's path, with room to spare.
__________________

Steelrose is offline  
Old 04-25-2003, 11:37 AM   #103 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default guess u havent

guess u guys havent heard of the new p4 chipset with a 800mhz bus, that clocks at 3ghz, well, it blow athlon out of the water with its 600 mhz fsb with 2ghz clock speed
dethangel is offline  
Old 04-25-2003, 11:45 AM   #104 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

http://www.intel.com/products/deskto...proc+prod_p4p&

in case you were wondering where i got it from:

800 MHz system bus: 3 GHz
dethangel is offline  
Old 04-25-2003, 06:26 PM   #105 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Wonder if that's a match for the upcoming Athlon 64.

The 2800+ Athlon 64 running at 1.6 GHz is capable of toppling a 2800+ Athlon XP and 2.8 GHz P4.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 10:33 AM   #106 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

The hammer. YAY!
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 11:21 AM   #107 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Personally, the 64-bit thing isn't a big selling point for me. The Hammer will be a great processor in that it will blaze a trail for 64-bit in the future, but I don't think there will be enough support for it at first to make it worthwhile.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 11:23 AM   #108 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

I think you are correct. but 64-bit processing will be nice in the future.
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 09:59 AM   #109 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3
Default Simply Athlon

It seems funny how people can be lead to believe almost anything they here. I don't wish to scrutinize, only set some things straight (I'm sure a bunch of people are going to say "in your opinion...").

Anyways, back in the day of the K6 processor, Intel lead the market for reliability purposes. Athlon struct back with the Duron. They had increased reliability and profit, but not enough to keep up with Intel.

Amd decided the way to get ahead is to simply "rethink their inks." Their engineers developed a processor that had a more efficient design. This allowed for executing most 32-bit instructions in less CLK cycles.

This simply put is how AMD is staying ahead in effieciency category. They do not lead in marketing or heat efficiency.

My only thought, that has no merit and is purely opinion, is that the reason they are so hot is because of the short pipelines; providing faster speeds but less area for "natural" cooling.

Oh yeah, and that bus speed thing... Check the stat's AMD's bus in only at 400 MHz top, but Intel's is 533 MHz.

Overall AMD is a better performer, but only because of the fact that they sat down an made the most time efficient CPU...
c11gordo2 is offline  
Old 06-14-2003, 10:33 PM   #110 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Default

its a close race, I play lots of games. I have a celeron 1.7 and it runs cold, with an ok cooling system. Games run alright on my system, and i only paid 135 for my mobo and cpu, and that was almost a year ago. they may not perform as well but i love my celeron, and it does what i need it to. and its cheaper then amds.
__________________

XY-195 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.