Pentium or Athlon? - Page 10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2003, 07:51 AM   #91 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by plasmaorb
go with AMD... never hear about AMD having to recall thousands of chips cause they rushed them out or whatever.

AMD always beats out Intel in the benchtests.
I Agree! Intel is always in a rush to get a chip out that they dont go over the limit and make the Chip amazing! They just make it to its potential which means it ain't good for overclocking! The reason AMD is slower in Ghz then Intel is because they take their time on their chips and make them beyond what they really are! I've disgust this with a AMD employee and thats what I got from him and from myself! AMD IS THE WAY TO GO!
__________________

__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForceģ GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 03-29-2003, 10:48 AM   #92 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default I second that

AMD also places a higher value on their MHz than Intel does.
Athalons get more work done in a clock cycle. I have an Athalon XP 1800 (1.53 GHz) that benchmarks higher than a Pentium IV 2 GHz, both with factory settings.
__________________

warl0rd is offline  
Old 04-02-2003, 08:51 PM   #93 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 29
Default While we are on the subject....

How do you guys think these compare:

1) AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton, 512 MB's of Mushkin PC2700 RAM, MCI mobo with the Nforce2 chipset

2) 2.4 GHz Intel P4 with 512MB's of PC1066 RDRAM on a mobo with the 850E chipset?

I am considering the AMD setup after it was highly recommended by a moderator on another forum. He said it would smoke the P4.

Comments?

Thanks

Mike
Mike V is offline  
Old 04-02-2003, 10:44 PM   #94 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

AMD would obviously win the framerate race.

But you do also have to consider, that the Intel platform, also has a DualDDR-supporting chipset (like the nForce2 on the AMD platform), but that wouldn't boost performance all that much afaik. :\
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 04-13-2003, 07:28 PM   #95 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 13
Default

for me Pentium for multimedia and Athlon for is for gaming
Dice is offline  
Old 04-13-2003, 08:15 PM   #96 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dice
for me Pentium for multimedia and Athlon for is for gaming

PC Gamer magazine's "Dream System" each month always has a P4 processor, but of course they could be sponsored by Intel, who knows.

Mike
Mike V is offline  
Old 04-13-2003, 08:15 PM   #97 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

I have a AMD XP 2400+ and have not had a problem..

For me the money is the concern.
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-13-2003, 08:19 PM   #98 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 604
Default

Athlon, Athlon, Athlon. Athlons are best in every way!!1
__________________
Search TF <b>before</b> posting!<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
randy is offline  
Old 04-13-2003, 08:21 PM   #99 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Damn Randy.. you really like AMD huh?
__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 07:39 PM   #100 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 17
Default

I've got a feeling that I'm gonna get hammered by this, but here goes.

I personally believe that the best processers to date are the amiga chips. I once saw (that's 'witnessed' for all the techies out there <grin>) an amiga running at only 14 Mhz (and that's megahertz not gigahertz) run 2 Video and 3 audio clips at the same time with no skipping at all.

Right now I use an AMD 1700+ and I am very happy with it and will most likely upgrade to another AMD chip later. But for raw power and speed, and you can still find a large population using the amiga in Europe I think, the amiga wins hands down hertz for hertz.

And a little bit of trivia for those who may not know, all the CG effects for the first season of Babylon 5 and part of the second season was done on a 14 Mhz amiga.
__________________

Steelrose is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.