Pentium 4 supporting 64 bit - any good?

Status
Not open for further replies.

labrat

Beta member
Hello, new member here.
Just wondered whether this pentium 4: http://www.intel.com/products/serve...4/index.htm?iid=ipp_dlc_procp4f+proc_p4_em64&
is as good as an Athlon 64 3500? I want to use it mainly for gaming, plus all the other usual bits.

I ask because I wanted to get a motherboard with pci express ports to get a pci express graphics card which i hear is better than AGP? And I cant actually find an amd mobo with pci express. Im new to all this stuff so if you can just clear it up it would be very appreciated!

P.S. Is the Nvidia 6600 any good?

Thanks!

The 64bit AMD is most likely going to be better for gamming, i havn't seen or heard anything about 64 bit intels, so that is news to me. Just by a rule of thumb, AMD's fair better in games and P4's to better at number crunching like compression stuff or anything processor intensive. As of right now there are no PCI-e boards that support AMD 64's, so right now it's a toss up. 64 bit, or PCI-e. As far as that card, it all depends on what you want to do. It's a nice card for gamming as long as you arn't picky and what the very very best. I would recommend the GT version if you are looking for something in that price range from nvidia. A bunch of people will probably come in here and talk video cards and say that one is better than the next, but it's all really relative to your system, so just look at your budget and go with whatever you prefer. Nvidia is a good company and the 6600 GT is a good bang for the buck, well worth the extra for the better model.

gaming = AMD

no game support 64-bit to date, as far as i know (better ask gamers for 64-bit supported games), if even it wasnt the 64-bit thing, i would have recommended AMD anyway.

else, wait a little, as AMD's PCI-E platform is yet to schedule this christmas.

and nVidia is definately getting leap this time. NV40 chips