Pentium 4 CPU problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2005, 07:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

hey, don't expect better off intels. remember, ""buy intel go to hell"" (quote quote )
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 07:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Ok finally i feel better
I was sick so i couldnt post or do anything for like 4 days or so
anyways!
Here are the pics. and sound
http://s18.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=2...Y35CMLEHTLBF3F
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...tfoo-/comp.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...rryPentium.jpg
__________________

__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 07:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default

FORGOT THESE

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...-/IMAG0020.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...-/IMAG0023.jpg
__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 07:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Default

I'm surprised there's only been one AMD retard bashing intels in here so far... guh, that's so annoying.

Anyway, in those pics the CPU looks like it doesn't have any paste on it, and the heatsink/fan aren't connected to the CPU, I'm assuming you've attached the heatsink/fan to the CPU though. Check to make sure that the CPU is properly aligned - there's an arrow in one corner, it should match with the corner closest to the end of the ZIF lever, there will be a triangle etched in. If the lever goes in without giving it much force, all is good. If you have to really pound on it to get it in, not good. Re-align it.

After you've secured the chip using the ZIF lever, use thermal paste and apply very little to the CPU, smooth it out and set the heat sink/fan on top... There should be "screws" that lock the heatsink/fan into the motherboard... push them down.
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=5VNS3T&i=103
Advanced Geeks - Advanced Technology Forums.
Have a technical question that no one here has an answer to? Ask certified professionals! Try us out!
We need your help!
AdvancedGeeks.com requires knowledgable mods and users to help handle a variety of tasks. PM me for more info.
caseyc is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 08:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default

1.It has thermal paste
2.the heatsink fan slipped right into teh rentention space
I dont know what wrong everything is installed like it should be...
Hmmm...idk
__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Dude, is it just me or did those 2 Pics of the CPU were dated 1969-01-26?

Dude, holy crap... What the hell?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default

XD
yeah i forgot to date,hehe
crap for a moment there i thought i was getting advice
__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 05:58 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default

http://s31.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=1...83VICAB2COSOO5

Heres a vid i recorded
It seems as if the noise were coming from the pentium 4 not teh mobo
When i went to a computer shop and asked about it
they said that
"Its a video card error (1 Long beep)and that reseating it may work"
but thing is its an AGP and i only have one slot of it
also he was saying mobo beeps what if it isnt the mobo making the beeps ? >_< respond ASAP
__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 06:01 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well then take out the gfx card and just turn the comp on to see if it'll turn on without any beeping
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 06:36 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

yuck that sounds awful On an off topic I too agree that the AMD fans are becoming quite annoying not posting any helpful advice with the Intel based threads...If your not gonna help just dont post.

Back on track.. What I woud like you to so is pin point the problem. Unplug EVERYTHING except the P4 power plug, the main MOBO power plug, and the CPU heatsink/fan power plug..and of course leave your power/reset button etc etc plugged in. However if it still makes the noise then unhook all other non-needed wires except the POWER SWITCH wire(unplug reset button, speaker, HDD light etc). If it still does it with the bare minimum then it is either the chip/mobo.

Again for this test you want the bare minmum you need for the computer to turn on..remove RAM, VIDEO CARD, PCI CARDS, ALL DRIVE POWER AND IDE CABLES etc...then if it works plug in one thing at a time until you recieve the error then you know what it is.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.