Pentium 4 confusion - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2004, 12:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by derfist
isn't Microsoft releasing their 64 bit OS early next year? this should help increase d perfomance of the 64 bit CPUs rite? some1 correct me if i'm wrong.
Correct, the operating system itself will take advantage of the chip, NOTHING ELSE. Only a 64 bit program can utilize the 64 bit chip. Otherwise its still going to run as a 32 bit, and it makes absolutly no sence to have one.
__________________

Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

and Intel does not have desktop 64bit CPU yet... lmao
only for servers and they do not support 32bit
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
and Intel does not have desktop 64bit CPU yet... lmao
only for servers and they do not support 32bit
Yeah, and? Why build a processor that is improved... but NOTHING CAN SUPPORT ITS FEATURES! lol!!! I don't think that says Intel's falling down hill... I think that says AMD is just plain stupid.

This to me is like... buying the Bat Mobile... and not having a drivers license! Why would you want one?! To say you have it? LOL!
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rizinc4


This to me is like... buying the Bat Mobile... and not having a drivers license! Why would you want one?! To say you have it? LOL!
Personally, if I had the Bat Mobile, I really wouldn't care whether or not I had a driver's license!
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 06:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Sure, tell that to buba when your in the pen for 9 months..
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

so, approximately when r d 64 bit programs gonna come out? any idead any1?
__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD¬ĪR/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Oh, in a few years.. LOL!

Buy hey, you still have your OS!
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ChaosBlizzard
Oh, in a few years.. LOL!

Buy hey, you still have your OS!
LOL!!! I suppose thats something to look forward to!
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I'll have to agree with most here, the 775 is just a test phase for better things to come. I am an Intel fan, but I do see that they are starting to slide down hill. It seems to me also that AMD and Intel are now trading thier heat problems. The new 64's are running much cooler than the racey prescotts. Which would make me wonder if its possibly time to switch brands...
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 11:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joeisalsocool
Which would make me wonder if its possibly time to switch brands...
With the heat, they are getting faster. There has to be a trade off somewhere! Intel would not be making the Prescott cores if they did not feel it were safe enough to run in a system. Why would they sell millions of their CPU's with warrenties, if they had no confidence in them? They wouldn't, plain and simple. For now stick with Intel, though most will argue it on this forum.
__________________

Rizinc4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.