Pentium 2 Heatsink On A Radeon - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2004, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default Pentium 2 Heatsink On A Radeon

this heatsink i have here, would it be smart to put this on my radeon 9200 so i can overclock it more, its at 320mhz core from 250mhz.

http://www.geocities.com/vedk2000/heatsink.html
__________________

Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

lapping is out of the question im not risking

there is enough room to fit it on, i just need to make 2 holes on the heatsink FOR the screws

so u think that i cant just remove that one and apply this one?

320 works great right now, 329 works for about 2 hours.

are ram sinks useful?


my ram is hynix and its running at 430 and can do 440 or 445 but its stock is 400. I tryed 460 and it works for a while before artifacts show up.
__________________

Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 08:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

I use ramsinks on my graphics card, and they help. I's suggest applying some arctic silver(the permanent adhesive type) for the ram sinks. The ones I use are the OCZ copper ram-sinks. They do come with thermal pads, but i like the A/S better.

BTW, they come 4 per package...so you may need two packs.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

its shuts off at 348mhz.

at 329 it works for a while with no artifacts but messes up later.

at 333 it works for about 2 minutes without artfacts

you guys do know that my card has only a very tiny passive heatsink, its a little black thing looks like a northbridge cooler for my via kt 400.

lol its small and no fan either

for the ram i tryed it and it works at 440, over the 400 original, it says 4s on it. so what does that mean? how many mhz? i dunno
I tryed making my own ramsinks by glueing on screws onto them, and this didnt help much, even tho the screws did take some of the heat away. Its Hynix memory btw.

P.S. how do u remove the heatsink / freezing it? lol or how its really fu*king strong the adhesive they used.
Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.