Pentium 1 HDD Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2004, 10:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Default Pentium 1 HDD Problem

Hi

I have a Pentium 1 and I would like to insert a 20GB HDD in it but the BIOS only supports up to 8GB. I’ve tried every thing I can think of including updating the BIOS but still the same problem. If anyone could help me that would be great.

Thank you for your time.
__________________

iceware is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 01:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Have you tried partitioning out the Disc into 7.9 GB sections?
Maxtor made a utility that would allow a disk of large capacity to be used on a system that wouldn't normally recognise it. Might want to start there and see what you can find.

Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: Pentium 1 HDD Problem

Quote:
Originally posted by iceware
Hi

I have a Pentium 1 and I would like to insert a 20GB HDD in it but the BIOS only supports up to 8GB. I’ve tried every thing I can think of including updating the BIOS but still the same problem. If anyone could help me that would be great.

Thank you for your time.

I take it that you already have the drive? I'm at work so I can't give any links. register at driverguide .com, do a basic search for
ez drive ver. 9.06. It has ez bios. boot from a 98 boot disk. at A:
put in the ez disk you made and type ez. install ez bios and it will partition and format to fat16 or fat32 only. if you mess up or it doesn't work for some reason, you can load ez again an uninstall it.
derrmc is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

As a last resort you could buy an add-in IDE PCI card. My Maxtor drive came with one. I used it on a Pentium 200, and all 80GB showed up.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

That is what I'd reccommend, purchase an ATA-133 PCI card and hook your drive into that. Read the system requirements before getting the card. The onboard BIOS driver for the ATA-133 card loads and give the motherboard the capability to use Int-13 extensions, allowing almost endless max HDD capacities. Plus the cards are cheap, try www.newegg.com for the best deals. Good luck.

Edit:

An additional reason to get an ATA-133 card would be throughput. The card should be able to handle whatever HDD you throw at it, as long as it's a PATA HDD. Even if you partitioned the drive to work on your system, you still wouldn't be able to utilize the HDDs max data transfer speed. That is if it is faster than what the mobo BIOS can handle.
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.