pcu speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2004, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
pgg
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default pcu speed

I have a asus k7v baord (bios-5/12/2000/via-kx133-k7v). running a
amd athlon 1000mhz(amd-a 1000mmr24b a) at boot I get this fault

(during last boot-up your sys. hung for an improper cpu external
speed setting. Your sys. is now working in safe mode (bus:100mhz,
dram:100mhz,pci:33mhz) To optimize the performance and reliability,
make sure the cpu speed conforms to the spec. of the cpu)
__________________

pgg is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 06:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

The error is caused by a mismatch in the CPU speed and what the BIOS thinks the CPU speed is. I've heard about this before, I'll look something up. In the mean-time, did you move any jumpers on the motherboard or try to overclock the CPU?.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
pgg
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

no. I checked the jumpers on the pdf manual, everthing is set
Correct. I have just tried putting in more memory-I have pc100
In it.cpu frequency was left at standard-it didn’t like it.
So I went back and changed the sdram from 3.3 to4.3
And got almost all the way though win98se setup-then froze like ICE

I’m really getting pissed at this(my thinking now is to chuck it out the window)
pgg is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Does it give you an error message before it freezes?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
pgg
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

no it never gets through setup
pgg is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 01:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 92
Default

some manuals jumper setting are not correct... some manual have that screw up...By the what speed is your other ram?
__________________

Senseis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.