PCIe 2.0 card in 1.0 slot... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2008, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default PCIe 2.0 card in 1.0 slot...

Would there be much of a difference if my 8800GT 512 was in the 2.0 slot it was made for and not a 1.0 slot?
__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 11:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: PCIe 2.0 card in 1.0 slot...

it should work, just the 2.0 has a transfer rate twice as fast as the 1.0, i think its something like 5.0 gt/s, so that means that 1.0 would be 2.5 gt/s or something like that.

gt/s = gigatransfers per second

Quote:
Source: www.wikipedia.com/wiki/pci_express
PCI-SIG announced the availability of the PCI Express Base 2.0 specification on 15 January 2007.[4] PCIe 2.0 doubles the bus standard's bandwidth from 2.5 Gbit/s to 5 Gbit/s, meaning a x32 connector can transfer data at up to 16 GB/s in each direction.

PCIe 2.0 is completely backwards compatible with PCIe v1.x. Graphic cards and motherboards designed for v2.0 will be able to work with v1.1 and v1.0, and vice versa.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 01:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: PCIe 2.0 card in 1.0 slot...

Do you think I would see a noticable increase in framerates?
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 04:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: PCIe 2.0 card in 1.0 slot...

if it was made for a 2.0 slot and you use it in a 1.0 then it caps the speed at 1.0.

so you should see a difference if you change it to 2.0 and the card was made for 2.0
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 04:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: PCIe 2.0 card in 1.0 slot...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheepykins View Post
if it was made for a 2.0 slot and you use it in a 1.0 then it caps the speed at 1.0.

so you should see a difference if you change it to 2.0 and the card was made for 2.0
Not true, the cards havent exceeded 1.0 bandwidth yet. The transition was made now for future cards to come.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 12:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: PCIe 2.0 card in 1.0 slot...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Not true, the cards havent exceeded 1.0 bandwidth yet. The transition was made now for future cards to come.
if the card was OCed then u should notice lol.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 12:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: PCIe 2.0 card in 1.0 slot...

Quote:
Not true, the cards havent exceeded 1.0 bandwidth yet. The transition was made now for future cards to come.
you took the words right out of my mouth. there will be no noticeable difference even with an overclock! it's like SATA vs SATA 3.0. there is no advantage to the newer drives in terms of bandwidth. they just have some extra features that were added by the SATA II committee, therefore the only disadvantage in using them on older ports is that you won't be able to use things such as NCQ (i think staggered spin up is also part of the newer standard).

i know that was a bit of a roundabout post but i think it's a good comparison
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conflict between PCI Video card and PCI Wireless Network Adapter otaku_mike Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-13-2007 01:01 PM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 06:42 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 08:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.