pci to pci express - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2005, 09:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GameGURU
Wouldnt you think that a AGP 8x to PCIE bridge would mess with the performance some?
I am assuming no since AGP 8 peforms the same as PCI-E 16 in real life.

Even a 6600GT on AGP 4x vs PCI-E16x, no peformance difference really
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 10:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

are u kidding me there will be a huge difference from 4x to 16x. i can beleive the 8x possibly that u can see but not 4x pci is 16x but they havent got the technoligy yet too make a card that can run at 16x
but no 4x and 16x ull see a difference playing a hight performance game like hl2 or doom3
thats like sayin u cant see a difference beetween pci and agp8x what are u smokin man
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

PCI and AGP8X you can notice a difference, and im not smoking anything.

Video card's do not use anywhere near the intefaces maximum bandwidth, in some therad around here I tested AGP 8X vs AGP 4x on an 6600GT with the same results.

I will do it again for you, if you want. Maybee even 2x.

To the origional poster, to go PCI-E you need to replace virtually everything, motherboard, CPU, video card ect. I am assuming you have an AGP slot since you have a 5200, so you can stick a nice AGP 6600GT in their and be happy
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

However, when games start to take advantage of PCIE's increased bandwith, the adapter would probably take a hit
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.