pci to pci express - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default pci to pci express

Hi ppls, not sure if this is possible or im a bit dumb on comps, but is it possible to convert a pci slot to a pci express, can i buy some kind of converter, if not would a new motherboard work. I want to improve my graphics when playin css, at the mo im gettin by on the pure basics. I dont think my computer as a whole is to bad, and so dont want to buy a new 1, but the graphics suck. The graphics card is a geforce fx 5200. PLZ HELP.
__________________

MACaLICHIS is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

No, you would need a new mobo. I believe there is an AGP to PCIE adapter coming out, but not a PCI one
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

I have never heard of a pci to pci-e converter..., correct me if I am wrong, but a pci couldn't support pci-e...

you will probably need to get a new mainboard..
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

emachines 620
2.70ghz intel celeron processor
80gb hard drive
geforce fx5200 64mb
512mb ddr

sora forgot the rest of my specs
MACaLICHIS is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

so if i was to get a new motherboard that had pcie slots then problem solved? could i then buy a new like geforce fx 6800and it would work.
MACaLICHIS is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

U would have to get a mobo that could fit that case (dun know if emachines use ATX), one with the right CPU socket (do celerons use the same socket as Prescotts?), a 24pin PSU (and a more powerful one). Its not as simply as just getting a new mobo.

You would be better off just building a new comp from the ground up
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 09:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Wouldnt you think that a AGP 8x to PCIE bridge would mess with the performance some?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 09:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Probably would
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 05:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

k thx 4 your help all.
MACaLICHIS is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 06:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea pci-e uses a different bus sytem to pci, and has a much higher bandwidth, so even if you could get a converter, it couldnt run and faster that a pci slot could anyway
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.