PCI graphics card installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2005, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default PCI graphics card installation

hi guys im a complete newb excuse me for my incompetence .... but i am going to but a graphics card for my compaq presario so i can play games on it..... i cracked it open and looked and couldnt really tell what goes where and how... i can see the white ports and what i believe the original card is in the bottom white port.... i dont see the brown AGP port that i have looked up...i dunno if it has one.... but if someone could walk me through how to install the card it would be great, thanks , matt
__________________

MattMan3288 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default

im not sure if this computer comes with a card or not i cant tell... but there is some type of card in one of the white slots.... help appreciated thanks
__________________

MattMan3288 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 02:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

since you have your case open.

you can find out where the current card is by looking for the plugin for your monitor.

just follow the connection to inside your computer.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 02:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 24
Default

What kinda card did u get?

ANd if You got a AGP card... and u see no brown AGP port.. you might of swam up the creek
Sonikbaby is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 03:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/sh...computer_store

^^ The two desktops in the middle have AGP slots, the other two series do not.

If yours is one of the middle two series your in luck and can upgrade to an AGP card, otherwise your a bit scuppered there.

Your AGP slot may not be brown, mine is green :P

Take a look above your white PCI slots, if you see a smaller (in length) slot that is slightly set back thats your AGP slot.
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default

if i get a pci card tho then ill be ok tho right??? and it will work fine... and how do i take out the original card?
MattMan3288 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default

is anybody familiar with the internals of a compaq presario?
MattMan3288 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Just check for a brown slot that is longer and report back.

With a "white slot" PCI graphics card, the best peformance will be a mx440. PCI severely limits a graphics card.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 11:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default

i really dont see one........i see a black vertical one with something in it already.... ...how can i tell which one is the old card?
MattMan3288 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 12:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default

these should help you guys help me



__________________

MattMan3288 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.