pci express vs agp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2004, 08:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default pci express vs agp

ok i am baffled. what is this pci express deal? thats all video cards pretty much come in. its not fair.. do i have to replace my motherboard to go a pci express alot? if i do anyone got a website were i can purchase one? or a pic of a pci expres slot
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

oh yeah! i can get a video card for xmas and i can spend up to 230 maybe 250 what is my best choice of video card for gamming? games like doom 3 and sims 2 and counter strike?. right now i have a nvidia geforce fx 5200 ultra that came out of an my friends old alienware about 1 year old. here is the card i am l;ooking at for 230$ XFX GeForce 6600 GT / 128MB DDR3 / AGP 8X / Dual DVI / HDTV

or should i look into ati's? please sendlink of best video card for my money. i posted a topic similar like this before but the reply that was left was some what helpful and the link he gave me didnt work.
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

These are PCI-E slots:



The big slot is PCI-E x16 and the small slots are PCI-E x1

The x16 slot is way faster than AGP.

You can buy a PCI-E motherboard if you want, but current AGP cards are still faster, it can take some time for the gfx card manufacturers to develop cards that take advantage of the x16 speeds.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

so what do u suggest as a better video card? or is the one i have selected a good choice?
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Dunno, looks like a good card to me. I don't know if they got better cards for under $250.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 09:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

should i go with a ati radeon 9800? 128 mb version or just stick with the 6600, i was talking to one of my friends and he said he has heard good things about radeons x600's any1 know if it can handle doom 3 better than my fx 5200 ultra? right now i can play d3 with high settings and shadows on
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 09:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

STAY AWAY FROM THE X600!!!!!!!! I can't stress that to you enough. If you want ATI, either go with the Radeon 9800 Pro or the X700 Pro. The X600s are crap and are no better than a Radeon 9600 Pro. Probably your best choice would be the 6600GT from Nvidia. It will max out Doom 3 and HL2, even with a little AA and AF. It probably is your best bet if you want bang for your buck.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 10:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

alright, 6600 it is, i have been lookin at it for awhile now and i think i want it. if anything changes for monbey wise i will move to a ati radeon 9800 pro and save 30-50$ is have too but i doubt it will
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 04:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 66
Default

AVOID 9800PRO, ALTHOUGH, it is NOT a bad card by any means, its definantly beginning to show a few signs of age.IF your looking for outstanding performance, Id go for the 660Gt, just my opinion.
atd332 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 04:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

agreed.
but get the eVGA one off of www.newegg.com
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Closed Thread

« Case... | Athlon »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.