PCI Express Vs. AGP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2004, 12:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default PCI Express Vs. AGP

i was just wondering whats the diff between the two. will the pcix replace agp. is it faster? give better graphics? more fps? why should one make the move from agp to pscx?
__________________

__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 12:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

As of now, there are no graphics cards that take advantage of PCI-Express. In fact, there are only a few high-end PCI-ex cards available. The X800XT Platinum is probably the best one, but even it gets beat out by its AGP counterpart. PCI-ex is the future though, and once the flaws gets worked out with it, it will become the new standard for video cards. The next generation will more than likely utilize PCI-ex and make AGP to PCI-ex like PCI is to AGP 8x.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 01:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

......basically
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 02:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

well in truth from all i have seen including some magazine and online articles explaining all the concepts and reasons behind this ive come to the conclusion that pci express and AGP 8x in nearly all cases is basically unnecessary... ive seen in written mags test showing how in a 9800 pro 256mb there is something of a .5% increase in performance going from 4x AGP to 8X AGP, so all in all unless you are using a super highend business level graphix card then you dont need pci express.... even tho soon enough it will become another standard so we can all buy more useless ****! YAY!
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 06:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

hehe
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 07:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default

so we've established that it's technology of the future in the works, but.. what exactly is pci-express? how does it work? and what makes it different from pci?
nbtech is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 09:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

PCI-Express info:
http://arstechnica.com/articles/paed...dware/pcie.ars
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 01:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default

does all the mobos that use PCI express use ddr2?
is that good for gaming, the ddr2 ram that is
__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Most high-end graphics cards today use DDR3

No, not all PCI-E mobos support DDR2...which is good, since DDR gets more expensive the higher you get.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.