PCI-E, CPU-Z, and Everest - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2005, 01:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Default PCI-E, CPU-Z, and Everest

Alright. So, I've got a decent ASUS PTGD1-LA Goldfish2 Motherboard. Unfortunately, it's been modified by HP for whatever reason and they removed the PCI-Express slot. If I browse through CPU-Z, or any other program, it says the bus type is PCI-Express, and that my MoBo is PCI-Express ready. If I pop open the case, I can clearly see the PCI-Express slot missing, but can tell that it was once there. There's even an expansion slot on the back for putting a card in it (where the monitor would plug in). Now, can I somehow "reclaim" this? Is it possible to get someone to install a PCI-Express slot where there obviously was one?

Another thing I'm concerned about: My computer is advertised as a 3.0 Ghz P4 Prescott. If I open CPU-Z, it's only clocking it as 2800 MHz; 200 MHz short. Everest clocks it as 3000 Mhz, occassionally dipping below. The CPU-Z measurement occassionally jumps to 3000 Mhz, and then drops down to 2800 Mhz. Should I be concerned about this, or is CPU-Z just being buggy?
__________________

VelvetyAmoeba is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

CPU-z is probably seeing the current speed. And everest is seeing what it can really run at when your running games and such.

But umm dont mess with the motherboard, theres probably something they done to the BIOS to keep people from adding a new card anyways.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

You bought the cheap hp with the 915GV chipset which doesn't have a pci-express slot. If you did not buy it from HP, you would have one, but now no. Nothing you can do, sorry
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.